Akshay, Aishwarya and Helen given Padmashri award

Mumbai: Its raining awards this season for both Aishwarya Rai Bachchan and Akshay Kumar. After walking away with the Screen awards,(though Akshay dedicated his award to Aamir Khan), the two actors have been conferred upon with the Padmashri awards.

Besides them, the legendary actor Helen was also given this award for her contribution to Art and Indian Cinema.

A number of musicians were also given the awards. Those awarded include Udit Narayan, Kumar Sanu, Penaz Masani and Hridaynath Mangeshkar.

The awardees were announced by President Pratibha Patil on 25 January. Both the actors expressed their happiness and said it was an honor to receive the award.