Lage Raho Munnabhai wins four National Film Awards

Mumbai: Bollywood film Lage Raho Munnabhai won four awards at the 54th National Film Awards for the year 2006. It won the Most Popular Film, Best Supporting Actor (Dilip Prabhawalkar), Best Screenplay and Best Lyrist awards.

Madhur Bhandarkar won the Best Director award for Traffic Signal.

Best Film award was bagged by Priyanandanan’s Malayalam film Pulijanmam, the Best Hindi Film award went to Dibakar Bannerjee’s Khosla Ka Ghosla.

The Best Actor award went to Bengali actor Soumitra Chatterjee for Suman Ghosh’s Podokkhep, whereas Best Actress award was bagged by Tamil actress Priyamani for Ameer Sulthan’s Poruthiveeran. Best Supporting Actress award went to Konkana Sen Sharma for Omkara.

The Jury Award was given to Vishal Bharadwaj for Omkara.

The Nargis Dutt award for best feature film on National Integration went to Kannada film Kallari Huvagi. Another Kannada film Care of Footpath was chosen as the best Children’s film.