Eddie Murphy to receive inaugural Comedy Icon Award at The Comedy Awards

MUMBAI: Actor Eddie Murphy will be honored as the recipient of the inaugural Comedy Icon Award at the first ever Comedy Awards, which is dedicated to honoring and celebrating the world of comedy.

This award will be presented annually to a modern icon, an individual who has made an extraordinary contribution to comedy and whose impact and innovations have changed the landscape and inspired future generations of entertainers. Murphy will be honored for his work in stand-up, sketch, film and television, among other numerous pioneering achievements.

"Eddie Murphy’s impact in the world of comedy is immeasurable. From the characters he created on ‘SNL,’ to his groundbreaking stand-up performances and unforgettable film roles, Murphy changed the game forever and we’re honored that he will be joining us for the first-ever Comedy Awards," said MTV Networks Entertainment Group executive producer and executive vice president, event production Casey Patterson.

The Comedy Awards has also confirmed that presenters and attendees include comedy stars, Tina Fey, Jon Stewart, Jimmy Fallon, Tracy Morgan, Matt Stone, Trey Parker, Ty Burrell, Louis C.K., Stephen Colbert, Rob Corddry, Bill Hader, Chloe Moretz, Craig Robinson, Andy Samberg and Kristen Wiig, with further talent announcements forthcoming.

Grammy Award-winning artist, The Roots, will entertain the audience throughout the event as The Comedy Awards house band. The inaugural event will also feature Andy Samberg, Jorma Taccone and Akiva Schaffer of The Lonely Island, performing I Just Had Sex featuring Akon for the first time live.

The Comedy Icon Award along with the previously announced Johnny Carson Award For Comedic Excellence will be presented during the taping of the first annual event in New York City on 26 March and will premiere on 10 April, 2011, simultaneously across MTV Networks’ COMEDY CENTRAL, Spike TV, TV Land, VH1 and Nick At Nite.