Fireworks International announces raft of new deals through BAFTA representation

MUMBAI: Fireworks International has secured a host of acquisitions from broadcasters around the world for the forthcoming Orange British Academy Film Awards, following its recently announced representation agreement with the British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA).  These newly secured deals mean that the awards show will be available in more than 75 territories.
The Orange British Academy Film Awards, which will take place on Sunday, 13 February, in London, will debut this year in Latin America with satellite broadcaster DirecTV and will also air on BBC America in the USA and UKTV in Australia and New Zealand. 
In Europe, the television special has been signed by Danish national broadcaster DR and Scandinavia’s NonStop Television for broadcast throughout Sweden, Norway, Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania and Benelux.  HBO Central Europe has picked up the title for Czech Republic, Bulgaria, Hungary, Romania and Poland whilst audiences in India will receive the show through Indian movie channel Sony Pix.     
Fireworks International president Greg Phillips said, “The Orange British Academy Film Awards is a truly stand-out event in the international awards season, honoring the film industry’s brightest stars from around the world and providing high caliber entertainment appealing to a wide audience.   We are delighted to announce this raft of deals following our partnership with BAFTA and are confident that this is just the start of our ongoing success in bringing their prestigious entertainment content to new global audiences.”
This year’s ceremony will be hosted for the fifth time by Jonathan Ross and will broadcast exclusively on BBC One in the UK, with red carpet coverage hosted by Edith Bowman on BBC Three.
Nominations in 2011, announced on 18 January, across 23 categories, include 14 nominations for The King’s Speech, 12 nominations for Black Swan, nine nominations for Inception, eight nominations each for 127 Hours and True Grit and six nominations for The Social Network.