Chak De! India, Shah Rukh Khan, Kareena win big at IIFA Awards


BANGKOK: The star-studded International Indian Film Academy (IIFA) Awards held in Bangkok saw Chak De! India winning yet another award for the best film. The best actor award went to Shah Rukh Khan for the same film, whereas Kareena Kapoor bagged the best actress award for her performance in Jab We Met.

The Idea Style Icon award was given to Abhishek Bachchan, whereas the Glamorous Diva award went to Katrina Kaif. The Idea Fresh Face of the Year was Neil Nitin Mukesh (Johnny Gaddar).

Yesteryears actress Mumtaz, filmmaker Shyam Benegal and music director A R Rehman were felicitated for their outstanding contribution to Indian cinema.

Ranbir Kapoor and Deepika Padukone bagged the best debutants award of 2007 for Saawariya and Om Shanti Om respectively.

Akshay Kumar, who lived in Bangkok prior to becoming an actor, was awarded the IIFA honour from Thailand.

The IIFA best director award was bagged by Shimit Amin for Chak De! India. The best performance in a supporting role (male) was bagged by Irrfan Khan for Life in a… Metro, whereas the best performance in a supporting role (female) award went to Konkona Sen Sharma for the same movie.

On the other hand, Govinda bagged the award for performance in a comic role for Partner. Vivek Oberoi took home the award for the best performance in a negative role for Shootout at Lokhandwala.

Music AR Rahman was given the best music director award for Guru (Barso Re). Jaideep Sahni bagged the best story award for Chak De India. The award for the best lyrics went to Javed Akhtar for the song Main Agar Kahoon from Om Shanti Om.

The award for best playback singer (male) went to Shaan for Jabse Tere Naina from Saawariya, whereas Shreya Ghoshal won the best playback singer (female) award for the song Barso Re from Guru. Vaibhavi Merchant won the award for best choreography in Aaja Nachle.

In the techinical awards category, Red Chillies Entertainment won the award for best special effects for Om Shanti Om. Sabu Cyril won the award for best art direction for Om Shanti Om. Best costume design award went to Manish Malhotra, Karan Johar and Sanjeev Mulchandani for Om Shanti Om, whereas the best makeup award went to Bharat and Dorris for Om Shanti Om yet again.

Sudeep Chaterjee won the best cinematographer award for Chak De! India. On the other hand, H. Sridhar bagged an award for best song recording for Guru.

Imtiyaz Ali was named the best dialogue writer for Jab We Met. Anurag Basu and Jaideep Sahni jointly won the award for best screenplay for Life in a Metro and Chak De! India respectively.