Nandita Das & Maithili Rao join advisory council for New Voices Fellowship for Screenwriters


MUMBAI: Asia Society India Centre has launched New Voices Fellowship for Screenwriters (NVFS), which is a program to identify and support a group of six talented independent screenwriters to develop their feature film scripts by working in a dynamic and innovative environment with guidance from eminent filmmakers and screenwriters.

The fellowship is guided by an Advisory Council. The members of the Advisory Council, led by Anjum Rajabali, are Dev Benegal, Saket Chaudhary, Nandita Das, Maithili Rao, and Jaideep Sahni. Bunty Chand and Rachel Cooper of Asia Society are also members of the Advisory Council. The project mentors are Ashwini Malik, Sriram Raghavan and Vinay Shukla.

Their premise is that screenwriters are seeking to write powerful, nuanced and well-crafted scripts and at the same time to explore new approaches to the art of writing for cinema. Writers from across the country are invited to submit an original story for consideration between 11 July and 31 August, 2011.

"We are delighted to launch the New Voices Fellowship for Screenwriters. This initiative, coordinated by Asia Society’s offices in New York and India, represents Asia Society’s commitment to fostering creativity and nurturing new talent whether it be Asia Society’s commitment to young leaders, women or in this instance, New Voices in Screen Writing," said Asia Society India Centre executive director Bunty Chand.