Rakesh Roshan honoured at the 24FPS Awards


MUMBAI: Producer-director Rakesh Roshan was conferred the Power Personality of the year award at the 24FPS Animation Awards 2006-07 for his contribution to the Indian entertainment fraternity.

Tata Elxsi creative director Pankaj Khandpur was honoured with the Lifetime Achievement Award at the awards.

The coveted Movers and Shakers Awards were given to Anirights Infomedia Founder and CEO Ashish Kulkarni, Gitanjali Rao, Vaibhav Studio director Vaibhav Kumaresh, Rhythm and Hues digital production manager A R Sesha Prasad, and Ranjith Singh, animation director and advisor.
The winning student film Naam Chod Kaam Dekh bagged the gold prize and received a cheque for Rs 3,00,000, while Aamchi Mumbai took home the silver and Rs 2,00,000. The winner of the bronze award and Rs 1,00,000 was the animated film Mehbooba.

Rohit Kole won the award for Kukruku in the 3D short film, Individual Student category and Symphonic Series by NID was awarded the best 2D short in the student category. The award for best visual effect by a student team was conferred to MAAC, New Delhi for Wizard Falcons.
Prime Focus bagged the award for the best visual effects in the industry category for its works in Sonic Battery; while India Heritage took home the award for the best 3D animated short film, for its film Little Krishna. Anirights infomedia animation director R Balasubramaniam took home the CGTantra award for Concept art and Figurative art. The CGTantra award for Animation was given to Tata Elexsi’s Anand Baid and Harshdeep Bohra took the excellence award in the field of Model art.

The awards jury included UTV’s creative head Sanjiv Waeerkar, Crest Animation creative director Virendra Chauhan, Vaibhav Studios director Vaibhav Kumaresh, Dreamworks Animation European Representative Shelly Page, and others.

This year, the awards received over 400 entries, including some from Abu Dhabi, UAE.