Shah Rukh Khan to perform at Chevrolet Apsara Awards


MUMBAI:  Shah Rukh Khan will be performing at the Chevrolet Apsara Producers’ Guild Awards to be held on 8 January, 2010 at Chitrakoot Grounds, Andheri.


The Chevrolet Apsara Film and Television Producers Guild Awards is the Guild’s endeavor to honor excellence in cinema and television by the stalwarts of the industry itself. The night will see over 30 awards being presented in categories of films and television.


Besides Shah Rukh, Saif Ali Khan, Kareena Kapoor, Vidya Balan, Arshad Warsi  and Vivek Oberoi will also be performing on stage at the award function.


The Film Awards are divided into the Technical and Popular categories. While the television industry is represented in the Best Non-Fiction Series, Best Drama Series (Fiction), Best Director – Fiction, Best Actress and Best Actor in a Drama Series. The 3 special awards will honour the Best Debutante (Male and Female) for the year 2009 and the Lifetime Achievement Award.


The award winners have been chosen by the Guild’s members through a secret ballot. The Guild Jury members  for the film awards include Ravi Chopra, Ashok Thakeria, John Mathew Mathan, Ketan Desai, Ketan Mehta, Uday Singh, Vinod Pande, Praveen Nischol, Govind Nihalani, Jahnu Barua, Kallpana G. Lajmi, Prem Sagar, Suneel Darshan, Umesh Mehra and Sajid Nadiadwala, who along with the auditors are a part of the selection process. The Guild Jury for the television awards are Manish Goswami, Anuj Saxena, Sheel Kumar, Jyoti Sagar, Vinta Nanda, Dheeraj Kumar, Sandeep Bhargava and Dr. Akash Khurana.


Guild president Manmohan Shetty said, “The Producers’ Guild Awards looks to honor achievers within the fraternity and it is an initiative from the fraternity itself. This stands out as the prime differentiator and makes the Awards special. With this synergy between the Guild and Wizcraft, we are confident that very soon; this will become the most credible amongst awards.”


The Awards are audited by PricewaterhouseCoopers, who has also been the auditors for the Oscars for the past 68 years. Wizcraft International Entertainment Pvt. Ltd. is the promoter of the Chevrolet Apsara Film and Television Awards 2009. The ceremony will be broadcast on Colors, Viacom18’s Hindi General Entertainment Channel and the official broadcast partner of the Chevrolet Apsara Awards 2009.


Wizcraft International Entertainment Ltd director Sabbas Joseph said, “We are very proud to be associated with this prestigious award, as the Producers Guild Awards is the only award that is chosen by the core industry itself. The Chevrolet Apsara Producers Guild Awards will showcase a spectacle that comprises of stunning performances by the biggest stars from Indian Cinema. It will emerge this year as one of the most glamorous awards, be it on scale, performances, attendance and presentation.”


COLORS programming head Ashvini Yardi said, “We are honoured to be partnering with The Guild and Wizcraft to broadcast the prestigious Chevrolet Apsara Awards. The awards are an esteemed distinction of being the only awards where peers from the industry recognize and felicitate excellence in the work being done by their contemporaries. COLORS as a general entertainment channel is delighted to bring together stalwarts from the Indian film and television industry in a joyous commemoration of good work.”