Yash Chopra honoured with the National Kishore Kumar award


MUMBAI: Director, producer Yash Chopra was awarded the National Kishore Kumar award.

The National Kishore Kumar Award is given by the Madhya Pradesh Government. Chopra was given the award for the year 2009-10 on 13 October, which is the birth anniversary of the late Kishore Kumar at Khandwa, MP which also happens to be his birthplace.

State Cultural Minister Laxmikant Sharma presented Chopra with the award, a traditional shawl and a cash prize.

Sharma said, “By agreeing to accept this award Mr. Yash Chopra has added to the reputation of MP as a state. He is one such great director whose films have been socially relevant since more than 50 years.”

Chopra recalled his association with the Late Kishore Kumar while appreciating the great work done by the Madhya Pradesh government in Kishore Kumar’s honour.

The Kishore Kumar award, instituted by the Madhya Pradesh government in 1997, is given away for direction, acting, script writing and lyrics every year. Past recipients of the prestigious award have included Hrishikesh Mukherjee, Gulzar, Shyam Benegal and Amitabh Bachchan.