Nominations Of The First Ever Critics Choice Film Awards Presents An Unbiased Analysis Of The Best Films

Critics Choice film awards

In a never before initiative by the Film Critics Guild and Motion Content Group, Critics Choice Film Awards acknowledges and appreciates the best cinematic experiences across the nation as the awards felicitate the filmmaking of not just the Bollywood films but also makes a pan-India appeal.

At an event in Mumbai on the 9th of April, Zoya Akhtar and Vidya Balan along with the members of the Film Critics Guild and the representatives of Motion Content Group announced the nominations of the Critics Choice Awards.

Apart from uplifting the best cinemas in Hindi, the awards also honour the brilliance of filmmaking in eight languages like Marathi, Gujarati, Tamil, Kannada, Malayalam, Bengali, and Telugu.

Hailing the credibility of the awards, Zoya Akhtar said that despite her debut film Luck By Chance not faring well at the box office she gained support from the critics who appreciated her efforts. Vidya Balan also thanked to be one of the most regarded names in the industry by the critics.

Announcing the awards, Zoya Akhtar shared the nominations for the best production design with the names of Rita Ghosh for Manto, Shubhrato Chakraborty and Amit Ray for Padmaavat, Nitin Zihani Choudhary and Rakesh Yadav for Tummbad. Moving towards the next category, Zoya Akhtar along with critic Raja Sen announced the names for best songs including Aahista from Laila Majnu, Bol Ke Lab Azad Hai from Manto, Dilbaro from Raazi, Halla from Manmarziyaan and Paintra from Mukkabaaz.

For the best background score, the nominations are Daniel B. Gorge for AndhaDhun, Amit Trivedi for Manmarziyaan, and Zespa Kyd for Tummbad. Best editing nominations included Pooja Ladha Surti for AndhaDhun, Nitin Baid for Raazi, Sanyukta Kaza for Tummbad. For cinematographers, the awards nominated Avik Mukhopadhyay for October, Sudip Chatterjee for Padmaavat, and Pankaj Kumar for Tumbbad.

Best writer nominations had Sriram Raghavan, Arijit Biswas, Pooja Ladha Surti, Yogesh Chandekar, Hemanth Rao for AndhaDhun, Shantanu Shrivastava and Akshat Ghidial for Badhaai Ho, Raj Nidimoru, Krishna D.K., and Sumit Arora for Stree.

Announcing the regional nominations, Vidya Balan and Bhawana Somaaya presented the Marathi films as Naal, Lathe Joshi, Redu, Gujarati films included Ddhh, Reva, Ventilator. Bengali nominations included Ekje Chilo Raja, Upa, Rainbow Jelly, and Telugu films consisted of Keraf Knacharapalem, Mahanati, and Rangasthalam.

Nominations for best film Kannada included Ammachi Yemba Nenapu, Nathicharami, Ondalla Eradalla, Tamil films nominated are Merku Thodarchi Malai, Pariyerum Perumal, Vada Chennai, Malayam films are Ee Ma Yau, Eeda, Sudani from Nigeria.

Zoya Akhtar and Vidya Balan announced the main categories of awards together starting with supporting cast female which included Gitanjali Rao for October, Rasika Duggal for Manto, Surekha Sikhri for Badhaai Ho, Swara Bhasker for Veere Di Wedding, and Yamini Das for Sui Dhaaga. The best supporting actor male nominations are Abhishek Bachchan for Manmarziyaan, Jaideep Alhawat for Raazi, Manoj Pahwa for Mulk, Pankaj Tripathi for Stree and Vicky Kaushal for Sanju.

The awards for best actor female won nominations to Alia Bhatt for Raazi, Anushka Sharma for Pari, Neena Gupta for Badhaai Ho, Taapsee Pannu for Manmarziyaan and Tabu for AndhaDhun.

Male Best Actors included Ayushmann Khurrana for AndhaDhun, Gajaraj Rao for Badhaai Ho, Ranbir Kapoor for Sanju, Ranveer Singh for Padmaavat, and Vineet Singh for Mukkabaaz.

Nominations for the best director are Amit Sharma for Badhaai Ho, Meghna Gulzar for Raazi, Aadesh Prasad and Rahi Anil Barve, Shoojit Sircar for October, and Sriram Raghavan for AndhaDhun.

The most awaited and anticipated award nominations for the best film included AndhaDhun, Raazi, Badhaai Ho, October, and Tumbbad.

Including renowned film critics like Anupama Chopra, Rajeev Masand, Bhawana Somaaya, Raja Sen, Shubha Shetty, Bharathi Pradhan, Rohit Khilnani, Shubhra Gupta, Baradwaj Rangan, Suparna Sharma, Udita Jhunjhunwala, Suhani Singh and Rahul Desai.

The Film Critics Guild and Motion Content Group have joined hands once again to present the first-ever Critics Choice Film Awards, a pan-India awards body, which is the only title after the prestigious National Film awards to award filmmaking in eight major languages, the ceremony of Critics Choice Film Awards will take place on 21st April.

About Author

BusinessofCinema News Network

Learn More →