35th International Emmy Awards declared


MUMBAI: The International Academy of Television Arts and Sciences has declared the winners of the 35th International Emmy Awards at a star-studded gala event held at the New York Hilton, hosted by award-winning stage and screen actor host Roger Bart, currently leading in Mel Brook’s new Broadway musical, Young Frankenstein.

A cast of international stars including Robert De Niro, Kristen Bell, Sam Waterston, Rob Morrow, Alan Cumming, Gloria Reuben, Eric Bogosian and Katrina Bowden presented the International Emmy statue to the winners in front of an international audience of over 1,000 entertainment and media executives.

Live-action fairytale The Magic Tree made history in the Children & Young People category by garnering Poland’s first ever International Emmy Award victory.

There was a tie in the Best Performance by an Actor with both British actor, Jim Broadbent winning for his performance as Stan McDermott in the drama series, The Street and Dutch actor, Pierre Bokma winning for his performance as Peter van der Laan in the television movie, The Chosen One. Best Performance by an Actress was won by French comedian Muriel Robin for her performance as Marie Besnard in Marie-Besnard The Poisoner.

In addition to the Best Actor category, British programs won in the Arts Programming, Comedy, Documentary, Drama Series, TV-Movie/Mini-Series and Non-Scripted Entertainment categories.

“We congratulate this year’s winners for their outstanding achievement. The International Academy is proud to be the preeminent platform for recognizing excellence in television programming and talent on a global scale,” said Academy President and CEO and Hearst Entertainment, President, Bruce Paisner.

The International Emmy Founders Award was presented by Robert De Niro to Former Us Vice-President and 2007 Nobel Peace Prize Recipient Al Gore, for his role in launching cable/satellite channel current TV and his ongoing effort to alert the world to one of the great challenges of our time, global warming.  The Directorate Award was presented by French film and television star Carole Bouquet to Patrick Le Lay, Chairman, TF1 Group for guiding the growth of the TF1 brand from a traditional commercial television broadcaster to a multi-media organization that is a pioneer in many of the emerging new digital platforms.

The International Children’s Day of Broadcasting (ICDB) Award was presented to the winning broadcaster from Thailand, National Broadcasting of Thailand, for its program From South to North, From East to West, Thailand ICDB-Unite for Children, Unite Against AIDS by The Bold & The Beautiful actors Ashley Jones and Drew Tyler Bell. This special Award is co-presented by The International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences and UNICEF.

The International Academy of Television Arts and Sciences is the largest organization of global broadcasters, with over 500 members from nearly 70 countries and over 500 companies. The Academy was chartered with a mission to recognize excellence in television programming produced outside of the United States. The Academy is an independent organization including the world’s leading entertainment and media decision makers who come together to exchange ideas, discuss common issues and promote new strategies for the future development of quality global television programming.