Academy invites 115 to become members


MUMBAI: The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences is extending invitations to join the organization to 115 artists and executives who have distinguished themselves by their contributions to theatrical motion pictures.

Those who accept the invitation will be the only additions in 2007 to the Academy’s roster of voting members.”These individuals are all exceptionally accomplished in their respective fields. We’re looking forward to having them join the Academy’s ranks,” said Academy president Sid Ganis.

The membership policies that the Academy adopted four years ago in order to slow the growth of the organization would have allowed a maximum of nearly 150 new members in 2007, but as in the previous three years, the various branch committees endorsed far fewer candidates than were proposed to them. Voting membership in the organization has now held steady at just under 6,000 members for four years.

“The numbers are stabilizing nicely but at the same time some interesting changes are occurring. Like the recent lists of Oscar nominees, our last few membership invitation lists have been increasingly international,” said Academy executive director Bruce Davis.

New members will be welcomed into the Academy at an invitation-only reception at the Fairbanks Center for Motion Picture Study in Beverly Hills in September.

The 2007 invitees are:

Actors: Jennifer Aniston, Adriana Barraza, Steve Carell, Daniel Craig, Aaron Eckhart, Chiwetel Ejiofor, William Fichtner, Ryan Gosling, Jackie Earle Haley, Jennifer Hudson, Danny Huston, Eddie Murphy, Christopher Plummer, James Rebhorn, Michael Sheen, Maribel Verdu
Animators, Sharon Calahan, George Griffin, John Kahrs, Torill Kove, Marcy Page, Troy Saliba

Art Directors: Hugh Bateup, At-Large, Sam Mercer, Lia Vollack,

Casting Directors: Lisa Beach, Leslee Feldman

Cinematographers: Javier Aguirresarobe, Steve Gainer, Michael Goi, Michael Grady, Adam Kimmel, Alar Kivilo, M. David Mullen, Xavier Perez Grobet,

Music: Carter Burwell, Alexandre Desplat, Javier Navarrete, Gustavo Santaolalla

Producers: Agustin Almodovar, Bonnie Arnold, Julia Chasman, Jonathan Glickman, Daniel Goldberg, Jack Rapke, Jane Rosenthal

Production Designers: Eugenio Caballero, Nathan Crowley, Nigel Phelps

Public Relations: Kevin Campbell, Jason Cassidy, Frank J. Chiocchi, Sarah Greenberg, Ileen Reich, Jeff Smith, Valerie Van Galder

Costume Designers: Consolata Boyle, Nancy Steiner

Directors: Peter Berg, D.J. Caruso, Antoine Fuqua, Paul Greengrass, Monte Hellman, Simon West

Documentary: Steve James, Nathaniel Kahn, James Longley, Brett Morgen, Laura Poitras, Eric Simonson

Executives: Greg Foster, Judd Funk, Adam Goodman, Andrew W. Gumpert, Michael J. Lambert, Yair Landau, David Weil

Film Editors: Sandra Adair, Virginia Katz, Saar Klein, Richard Pearson, Alex Rodriguez, Christopher Rouse

Live Action Short Films: Borja Cobeaga, Javier Fesser, Ari Sandel

Makeup: John E. Jackson, David Marti, Montse Ribe, Kazuhiro Tsuji

Sound: Michael J. Benavente, Linda Folk, Jessica Gallavan, Tim Gomillion, Howard London, Steven D. Williams, Jim Wright

Visual Effects: John Andrew Berton Jr., Al DiSarro, Bryan Hirota, Alan E. Lorimer, Christopher Nibley, Douglas H. Smith, Ben Snow, Eric Swenson, Jon Thum

Writers: J.J. Abrams, Michael Arndt, Guillermo Arriaga, Florian Henckel von Donnersmarck, Patrick Marber, William Monahan, Peter Morgan, Billy Ray, Erin Cressida Wilson