Fourth Annual Asia Pacific Screen Awards dates announced


MUMBAI: The Fourth Annual Asia Pacific Screen Awards (APSA) will be held on Thursday, 2 December, 2010.


Thirty seven films representing 16 countries and territories were nominated in the 2009 APSAs, with winners coming from Australia, Japan, Republic of Korea, Islamic Republic of Iran, Israel, Palestinian Territories, People’s Republic of China and Thailand and high commendations going to films from Australia, India, Republic of Korea and Russian Federation. Winners were determined by an International Jury headed by Chinese director and producer Huang Jianxin (People’s Republic of China).


APSA chairman, Des Power said: “The Asia-Pacific region produces half of the films in the world and is home to some of the most exciting, innovative and talented practitioners in the industry. In a year when Asia-Pacific works are absent from all major categories in the recent Academy Award nominations, we are reminded how vital it is for filmmakers of Asia-Pacific to have an award of their own, to acclaim the outstanding talent of the region and create new audiences for their work.”


The APSA Ceremony will be staged at the Gold Coast Convention and

Exhibition Centre.


Premier and Minister for the Arts Anna Bligh said: "Our nationally acclaimed festival will also move to November so it can form a closer association with the APSA and create an extended celebration of film in South East Queensland."


APSA Nominations Council and International Jury members for 2010 will be announced in the coming months ahead of the entries open date: Monday, 3 May, 2010.