Lord David Puttnam to head Asia Pacific Screen Awards jury


MUMBAI: Lord David Puttnam, will head the International Jury of the fourth annual Asia Pacific Screen Awards (APSA), to be held on Australia’s Gold Coast on 2 December, 2010.


Lord David Puttnam, follows previous International Jury presidents Huang Jianxin (2009, People’s Republic of China), Bruce Beresford (2008, Australia) and Shabana Azmi (2007, India) to lead the group of film practitioners, who decide on the winners of Asia-Pacific’s highest accolade in film.


The announcement was made from the Cannes Film Festival this evening at the International Launch of the fourth annual APSAs, presented in partnership with FIAPF-International Federation of Film Producers Associations and the Screen Producer’s Association of Australia (SPAA), attended by more than 150 key industry players from Asia-Pacific and Europe, including high profile members of the APSA Academy.


Lord Puttnam’s body of work includes Palme d’Or winner The Mission (1986) , Chariots of Fire, for which he received a Best Picture Oscar in 1981, The Killing Fields (1984), based on the experience of three journalists in Cambodia during the time of the Khmer Rouge.


In 2006, Lord Puttnam was awarded a BAFTA Fellowship for Lifetime Achievement. His producing credits include Bugsy Malone, Local Hero, Midnight Express and he also produced Ridley Scott’s directorial debut The Duellists, which played in Cannes in 1977 receiving a Unanimité award. Scott’s latest film, Robin Hood, starring Russell Crowe and Cate Blanchett opened the Cannes Film Festival on Wednesday evening.


Lord Puttnam said, "“I have watched APSA go from strength to strength since its inception in 2007 and admire the contribution it has made to the promotion of Asia-Pacific films both in their own region and internationally. It is a great honor to accept the role of International Jury President and I look forward to collaborating with my fellow jurors in watching some of the great films from this highly creative region."”


APSA chairman Des Power said: “"The high calibre of our Jury attests to the integrity of receiving an APSA. I am honored to welcome Lord Puttnam to preside over this year’s Jury and have no doubt that his commitment to the ideals of APSA and extensive experience as a producer will make a valuable contribution to this year’s awards. I know his appointment will be extremely well received.”"


The other members of the jury will be announced later in the year and the films selected to contend for the coveted award will be announced in early October. Jury members will meet on Australia’s Gold Coast in late November ahead of the APSA Ceremony on 2 December, 2010.