Hrithik & Priyanka shine bright at Star Screen Awards

MUMBAI: The Screen Awards, the first award ceremony to be conducted in 2009, stepped into it’s 15th year.

The award function was held on 14 January, 2009, at the MMRDA grounds in Mumbai with performances by some of the biggest names in Bollywood.

This year it was a tough job for the jury to decide the winner in the Best Actor category with nominees like: Amitabh Bachchan – Sarkar Raj, Naseeruddin Shah – A Wednesday!, Aamir Khan -Ghajini, Shah Rukh Khan – Rab Ne Bana Di Jodi, Akshay Kumar – Singh Is Kinng, Abhishek Bachchan – Dostana, Hrithik Roshan – Jodhaa Akbar and Ranbir Kapoor – Bachna Ae Haseeno.

It was Hrithik Roshan who finally bagged the award for his performance in Ashutosh Gowariker’s, Jodhaa Akbar while Priyanka Chopra was awarded as the best actress for Madhur Bhandarkar’s Fashion.

Jodhaa Akbar directed by Gowariker won the best film award and the best director award was shared by Gowariker and Neeraj Pandey for A Wednesday.

Aishwarya Rai Bachchan and Akshay Kumar were honoured with the Nokia Popular Viewers’ Choice awards for Jodhaa Akbar and Singh is Kning respectively, however Akshay refused to collect the award and instead dedicated the award to Aamir Khan for his performance in Ghajini.

When called upon the stage, Akshay said he watched Ghajini and felt that Aamir deserved this honor more than him.

The awards for the other categories were as follows:

Best Actor in a Supporting Role (Male)
Arjun Rampal – Rock On!!

Best Actor in a Supporting Role (Female)
Shahana Goswami – Rock On!!

Best Actor in a Negative Role (Male/Female)

Akshaye Khanna – Race

Best Actor in a Comic Role (Male/Female)
Tusshar Kapoor – Golmaal Returns

Best Music
A. R. Rahman – Jodhaa Akbar

Best Playback Singer (Male)
KK – Khuda Jaane (Bachna Ae Haseeno)

Best Playback Singer (Female)

Shilpa Rao – Khuda Jaane (Bachna Ae Haseeno)

Best Lyrics
Anvita Dutt Guptan – Khuda Jaane (Bachna Ae Haseeno)

Most Promising Newcomer (Male)
Farhan Akhtar – Rock On!!

Most Promising Newcomer (Female)
Asin Thottumkal – Ghajini

Best Story
Neeraj Pandey – A Wednesday!

Best Screenplay
Shiraz Ahmed – Race

Best Editing
Deepa Bhatia – Rock On!!

Best Art Direction
Shashank Tere – Rock On!!

Best Cinematography
Jason West – Rock On!!

Best Animation Film
Roadside Romeo

Lifetime Achievement Award
Sanjay Khan

Ramnath Goenka Award
A Wednesday!