11th IFFK 2006 from December 8, 2006

Mumbai: The 11th International Film Festival of Kerala (IFFK 2006) will be held in Thiruvananthapuram in Kerala from December 8 to 15, 2006. Kerala Chief Minister V.S. Achuthanandan will inaugurate the festival on December 8. Union Information and Broadcasting Minister Priyaranjan Dasmunsi and actress Sharmila Tagore will be the chief guests of honour.

According to K.R. Mohanan, Chairman of Kerala State Chalachitra Academy, 143 films from around the world will be screened. The Indian cinema section will include Chitra Palekar’s Maati Maay, Rituparno Ghosh’s Dosar, Girish Kasaravalli’s Neralu, Anish Ahluwalia’s Kya Tum Ho, Gajendra Ahire’s Shevri and Rajesh Domalpalli’s Vanaja.
Fifteen films from Asia, Africa and Latin America countries have been selected. Included in the competition category are T.V. Chandran’s Tamil film Aadum Koothu and M.P. Sukumaran Nair’s Malayalam film Drishtantham. The other movies include The Violin from Mexico, Dry Season from Chad, Angel’s Fall from Turkey, Road Under The Skies from Uzbekistan and Full of Empty from Iran. The festival also has a Malayalam Cinema section, where eight films will be screened.

BOC Editorial

Learn More →

Leave a Reply