13th Mumbai Film Festival unveils jury members

Mumbai: The 13th Mumbai Film Festival, a Reliance Entertainment initiative organised by Mumbai Academy of Moving Image (MAMI), will be held in Mumbai from the 13 to 20 October, 2011.

This year’s festival boasts of a lineup of cinematic masterpieces and an esteemed panel of jurors. The jury members include Hugh Hudson, Roger Spottiswoode, Jerzy Skolimowski and Na Hong-Jin.

The hub for the festival will be Cinemax Versova and other venues include Cinemax Sion and Metro Big cinemas, the festival aims at showcasing cinematic works of directors from across the globe.

“Mumbai Film Festival is committed to showcase the best in cinematic talent. It has been a long and fruitful journey. We are happy to welcome the jury members and play host. We are happy that the Indian entertainment industry has shown us tremendous support,” says Mumbai Film Festival chairman Shyam Benegal.

Basu Chatterjee is the Chairman of the Harmony Celebrate Age Jury. Harmony Celebrate Age aims to encourage filmmakers to look beyond the stereotypes of old age and to look at the positive side of ageing.

Jurors for the Dimensions Mumbai section include Kiran Rao, Vikram Aditya Motwane, Nishikant Kamat, Onir and Renuka Shahane. Dimensions Mumbai, a short film competition open to Mumbaikars below 25 years, where a short film depicting any aspect of life in Mumbai can be submitted.

Speaking about the Jury composition, Mumbai Film Festival director S. Narayanan said, “We will be announcing the complete lineup for the festival. We are delighted with the response we have been receiving and the support extended to us by the Indian entertainment industry. We hope to be bigger and better this year.”