RDB, Munnabhai win big at Zee Cine Awards

MUMBAI: It was the clash of the titans at the 10th Annual Zee Cine Awards, which were held in Genting, Malaysia today (1 April).


The Zenith Power Team Award was a tie between Rang De Basanti and Lage Raho Munnabhai. Incidentally, while Rang De Basanti was India’s official entry to the Oscars this year, Lage Raho Munnabhai was entered as an independent entry in the best film category at the same.


“This is a great moment for Indian cinema. It is great that two films like RDB and LRM are sharing this award. LRM had an unconventional star in Mahatma Gandhi as the real hero of the movie and no one thought RDB would do well. Yet both these film have done exceptionally well,” said producer director Vidhu Vinod Chopra.


Ronnie Screwvala of UTV Motion Pictures, which produced Rang De Basanti said, “It is a very proud moment for us. Rang De Basanti was the first film to release in early 2006 and thereafter followed many more great films. Last year has truly been a glorious year for Indian cinema. This award is for all the films released last year.”


The best actor (male) award was clinched by Hrithik Roshan for Krrish. The award was given away by Abhishek Bachchan and Aishwarya Rai to Rakesh Roshan, who accepted the award on behalf of Hrithik.


The best actor (female) award was bagged by Kajol for Fanaa . The awards were given away by Sridevi and Boney Kapoor.


Director of Rang De Basanti Rakyesh Omprakash Mehra walked away with the best director award, which also bagged the best film award. Mehra dedicated his award to all the airborne pilots who lost their lives in the MIG crashes.


Saif Ali Khan yet again bagged the best performance in a negative role award for his portrayal of Langda Tyagi in Vishal Bharadwaj’s Omkara. Circuit of Lage Raho Munnabhai – Arshad Warsi was given the best actor in a comic role award.


The critics award for the best film went to Lage Raho Munnabhai and the critics award for the best actor (male) was bagged by Sanjay Dutt for the same movie. On the other hand, Gul Panag and Ayesha Takia were jointly given the critics award for the best actor (female) for Nagesh Kukunoor’s Dor.


On the debut awards front, Upen Patel was given the most promising debut actor (male) award for 36 China Town, Kangana Ranaut bagged the most promising debut actor (female) award for Gangster, whereas Dibankar Banerjee was given the most promising debut director award for Khosla Ka Ghosla.


The best supporting actor (male) award went to Abhishek Bachchan for Kabhie Alvida Na Kehna and best supporting actor (female) award was bagged by Konkona Sen Sharma for Omkara.


The lifetime achievement award was given to Vinod Khanna, whereas Subhash Ghai was conferred the special recognition award for excellence in visual arts. The Zee – Diamond Trade Corporation (DTC) Forever Diva award was given to none other than Rekha. On the other hand, the Fun Cinemas entertainer of the year award was clichéd by Shah Rukh Khan.


The other winners were as follows:


Best popular track of the year: Beedi Jalaele (Omkara)


Best lyricist: Prasoon Joshi (Masti Ki Pathshala from Rang De Basanti)


Best playback singer (female): Alka Yagnik (Tumhi Dekho Na – KANK)


Best playback singer (male): Shaan (Chaand Sifarish – Fanaa)


Best music director: AR Rehman (Rang De Basanti)


Techical Awards:


Best film processing: Adlabs for KANK


Best publicity design: H.R Enterprises’ Rahul Nanda for KANK


Best costume: Anna Singh and Bindiya Dutta for Umrao Jaan


Best VFX: Lage Raho Munnabhai and Krrish


Best editing: Bharti for Rang De Basanti


Best cinematography: Binod Pradhan for Rang De Basanti


Best action: Tony & Shyam for Krrish


Best art direction: Sharmistha Roy for KANK


Best audiography: Jeetendar Chowdhari for Krrish


Best backround score: Salim Sulaiman for Krrish


Best song recording: Salman Afridi for Omkara


Best choreography: Ganesh Acharya (Beedi from Omkara)


Best screenplay: Rajkumar Hirani and Abhijat Joshi for Lage Raho Munnabhai


Best dialogue: Rajkumar Hirani and Abhijat Joshi for Lage Raho Munnabhai


Best story: Rajkumar Hirani and Abhijat Joshi for Lage Raho Munnabhai


The Zee Cine Awards, which had emcees in Karan Johar, Saif Ali Khan and Shilpa Shetty, saw performances by Shah Rukh Khan, Abhishek Bachchan, Aishwarya Rai, Ritiesh Deshmukh, Katrina Kaif, Tanushree Dutta, Kim Sharma, Anupama Verma, Preeti Jhangiani, Kashmira Shahm, Hrishita Bhatt, Ria Sen, Sophie and Minnisha Lamba.

BOC Editorial

Learn More →

Leave a Reply