New York Indian Film Festival announces award winners


MUMBAI: Capping off five days of Indian cinematic excellence, the 11th Annual New York Indian Film Festival came to a close in grand fashion on May 8 with the spectacular Closing Night red carpet premiere of Rituparno Ghosh’s film Noukadubi, which was attended by Rishi Kapoor, Neetu Singh Kapoor, Salman Rushdie, Mira Nair, Aparna Sen, Madhur Jaffrey, Ambassador Prakash Shah, Consul General Prabhu Dayal, and other celebrities.

Following the premiere at Asia Society in Manhattan was the festival’s annual awards ceremony. The winners are listed below:

Best Feature Film – Sthaniya Sambaad (Spring in the Colony), directed by Arjun Gourisaria & Moinak Biswas
Best Director – Aparna Sen, Iti Mrinalini
Best Actor – Rishi Kapoor, Do Dooni Chaar
Best Actress – Konkona Sen Sharma, Iti Mrinalini
Best Screenplay – Mohan Raghavan, T.D. Dasan Std. VI B
Best Documentary – Bhopali (Max Carlson)
Best Short Film – Just That Sort Of A Day (Abhay Kumar)