Rajkumar Hirani’s 3 Idiots win maximum awards at IIFA Awards


MUMBAI: Rajkumar Hirani’s 3 Idiots won majority of the top awards, including the Best Film and Best Director Award at the IIFA Awards, 2010 ceremony held in Colombo, Sri Lanka.

The awards won by 3 Idiots included: Vidhu Vinod Chopra for Best Film, Rajkumar Hirani for Best Director, Kareena Kapoor for Performance in a Leading Role – Female, Sharman Joshi for Performance in Supporting Role- Male, Boman Irani for Performance in a Negative Role, Abhijat Joshi,Raj Kumar Hirani & Vidu Vinod Chopra for Best Story, Swanand Kirkire for Best Lyrics and Shaan who won the Playback Singer-Male for the song Behti Hawa Sa Tha Who.

Some of the others who also won awards were: Amitabh Bachchan, who won the Award for Best Actor for his role in Paa, and Vidya Balan who won the Best Actress Award for her role in Paa along with Kareena Kapoor, while Divya Dutta won the Award for Performance in a Supporting role – Female for Delhi 6, Sanjay Dutt won the Award for Performance in a Comic role for All the Best, Anil Kapoor was presented with the Award for Outstanding Achievement by an Indian in International Cinema, Jacqueline Fernandez and Mahie Gill were presented with the Star TV debut of the year (Female) Award, while Jackie Bhagnani and Omi Vaidya won the Star TV debut of the year (Male) Award. The Green Globe Crusader of the Year presented an Award to Vivek Oberoi for his contribution towards the environment while Zeenat Aman won an award for Outstanding Achievement in Indian Cinema. Actor Hrithik Roshan honored his grandfather, J. Om Prakash for his Outstanding Contribution to Indian Cinema.

A performance by Jacqueline Fernandez opened the show, while Salman Khan, Hrithik Roshan, Kareena Kapoor, Saif Ali Khan, Bipasha Basu, Anil Kapoor, Govinda and Vivek Oberoi all performed at the ceremony too. IIFA Awards was hosted by Lara Dutta, Riteish Deshmukh and Boman Irani.