Rang De Basanti bags top honours at IIFA


    MUMBAI: UTV Motion Picures’ Rang De Basanti directed by Rakeysh Om Prakash Mehra and starring Aamir Khan, Soha Ali Khan, Kunal Kapoor, Alice Patton, R Madhavan and Kirron Kher was the audiences’ and jury’s favorite film at the 8th Annual IDEA IIFA Awards at Yorkshire.

    Hrithik Roshan added another feather to his cap with the title of the best actor for Krrish while Rani Mukherjee was awarded the Best Actress for Kabhi Alvida Na Kehna. Raj Kumar Hirani won the best director at the IDEA IIFA Awards for the film Lage Raho Munnabhai.

    Sunidhi Chauhan won the best female playback singer. The music category was dominated by the Fanaa team, as Prasoon Joshi bagged the award for best lyrics and Shaan was rewarded for the Best Male singer 2006 for his rendition ‘Chand Sifarsh’.

    The IDEA IIFA Awards 2007 also saw performances from leading stars of Indian cinema like Salman Khan, Abhishek Bachchan, Shilpa Shetty, Akshay Kumar, Saif Ali Khan and Bipasha Basu.

    The night also saw dance rhythms by Govinda, Aftab Shivdasani, Emraan Hashmi and Raima Sen choreographed by Shaimak Davar. Boman Irani and Anupam Kher kept the audience in splits with witticisms with Lara Dutta adding the oomph quotient. Shilpa Shetty enthralled the UK audience by performing live to all the top songs of the year.

    The winners were as follows:

    · Rang De Basanti – Best Film
    · Rani Mukherjee – Best actress
    · Hritik Roshan – Best actor
    · Raj Kumar Hirani – Best director for Lage Raho Munnabhai
    · Sunidhi Chauhan – Best Female Playback Singer for Beedi Jalaile
    · Shaan – Best Male Playback Singer for Chand Sifarish
    · Prasoon Joshi – Best Lyrics for Chand Sifarish
    · A R Rehman – Best Music Director for Rang de Basanti
    · Kangana Ranaut – IIFA award for Star TV debut (female)
    · Upen Patel – IIFA award for Star TV debut (male)
    · Abhijit Joshi – Best Dialogue for Lage Raho Munnabhai
    · Rensil Dsilva & Rakeysh Omprakash Mehra – Best Screenplay for Rang De Basanti
    · Tusshar Kapoor – Best Performance in Comic Role
    · Saif Ali Khan – Best Performance in Negative Role for Omkara
    · Dharmendra – Idea IIFA Award for Outstanding contribution to Indian Cinema
    · Deepa Mehta – Idea IIFA Award for outstanding achievement by an Indian in International Cinema
    · Soha Ali Khan – Best Actress in a Supporting Role
    · Arshad Warsi – Best Actor in a supporting Role