‘Roadies 9’ more expensive than previous shows: Rajiv

MTV Roadies 9
MUMBAI: MTV "Roadies" back with season nine and Rajiv Lakshman says that shooting this season turned out to be an expensive business as the they travelled to the US and during that period, the dollar’s value went up.

Rajiv along with his twin brother Raghu Ram will judge the show going on air Saturday with 13 contestants – seven girls and six boys.

Explaining difficulties while making the show, Rajiv told IANS: "As makers of a dramatic show, we don’t have big budgets. But we have a crew with us which is unique for the show. This time the whole team came up with the idea to do the show in the US. So its was a team decision.

"But ‘Roadies 9’ was little expensive than the previous shows because the US dollar went up while we were making the show. It also disbalanced our show’s budget and it was extremely difficult, but because of knowledge of economic television information, we could saved and managed things."

"Roadies" is the brainchild of Raghu and later his twin brother Rajiv joined him.
Both of them were in the capital to introduce the 13 short-listed contestants for the show and to unveil its promos.

Rajiv said "Roadies 9" is the first Indian reality show to be shot in the US.

"The new thing about the show is that it’s India’s first show which has been shot in America. With the new task viewer will see a new place. They would also enjoy new culture since America is a unique place and everything is larger than life in that country," said Rajiv.

In the new season, the contestants are expected to bring X-factor to the show and also showcase their talent and adventurous streak.

The Season 9 will kick start from Jaipur and than it will move to Delhi and then enroute to the US.

The contestants will stop at San Francisco for a basketball task and also at the Death Valley of California where 13 participants will have a man versus wild survival task.

In short, this time adventure is to survive.

Abhishek Shetty, Himani Sharma, Vinay Abhishek, Anirudha Sharma, Arsh Shearif, Taranjeet Kaur, Manali, Diyali Chauhan, Pratima Dagar, Vikas Thokar, Kanak Raju, Khusbhu Patel and Dimpy Yadav.