Shah Rukh Khan & Karan Johar to host IPL 3 Awards; Colors to telecast


MUMBAI: Even as Indian Premier League’s (IPL) dirty linen continues to be washed in public, IPL chairman and commissioner Lalit Modi has announced the IPL 3 Awards.


The awards will be held on 23 April at Grand Hyatt in Mumbai and will be hosted by Shah Rukh Khan (owner of Kolkata Knight Riders) and producer – director Karan Johar. The IPL Awards will be filmed by Hindi general entertainment channel Colors and will be telecast in early May.


Bollywood actors like Hrithik Roshan, Priyanka Chopra and Katrina Kaif are slated to perform at the awards ceremony. The best players and performances of IPL 3 will be honored at the inaugural IPL Awards.


The awards ceremony will be the entrée to the conclusion of the tournament, with the best from the DLF IPL to be applauded across 22 categories.


Modi said, "IPL has evolved into a uniting force in world cricket and signaled a new era in sports entertainment over the past three seasons. The IPL Awards is the crowning jewel and a fitting event to recognise the best of this season’s breathtaking tournament."


The awards have been divided into viewers’ and critics’ choice categories, giving experts and armchair experts alike the chance to decide on who will walk away with the coveted statuettes.


The critics’ choice awards will be adjudged by the IPL3 Awards jury comprising Modi, Sunil Gavaskar, Brian Lara, Javagal Srinath, Simon Taufel and Harsha Bogle.


The IPL Awards will be produced by Cineyug and DNA Networks.