Studio 18 to release Cash in 55 theatres


    (Updated: 1 August, 2007; 3:00 pm)

    MUMBAI: Studio 18 will be distributing Anubhav Sinha’s Cash in the CP / Berar territory. The company recently set up its distribution office in the territory.

    The star cast of Cash, which is scheduled to release on 3 August, comprises Ajay Devgan, Zayed Khan, Riteish Deshmukh, Sunil Shetty, Esha Deol, Shamita Shetty and Dia Mirza.

    According to an official statement, Studio 18’s distribution team has planned the widest ever release seen for a Hindi film in the CP / Berar territory.

    While earlier the release of the film was scheduled in 45 theatres in the territory, another 10 theatres have been added, taking the final count to 55 cinemas in CP/Berar territory, which the company claims is the highest ever till date for a movie there.

    Studio 18 national head – domestic distribution Utpal Acharya said, “We plan to aggressively release in theatres across the territory. We have already booked prime location single screens as well as digital UFO’s screens. The idea is to capitalise on the hype the film has generated. We strongly believe that the content is good and has a great appeal in this market.”

    Earlier Studio 18 has released Honeymoon Travels Pvt Ltd, Kya Love Story Hai and Awarapan. In India, the company distributed Vipul Shah’s Namastey London in the Delhi, Noida and Ghaziabad territories and 1971 (all India).

    Studio 18 is also co-producing Raj Kumar Santoshi’s Halla Bol with Sunrise Pictures Pvt. Ltd. and Ravi Chopra’s Bhootnath.

    Additionally, Studio 18 has inked a two-year co-production deal worth Rs 1 billion (Rs 100 crore) in November last year with Shree Ashtavinayak Films for four movies. The filmmakers that have been signed in this deal are Priyadarshan, Abbas-Mastan, Rohit Shetty and Neeraj Vora.

    Related story:
    Studio 18 sets shop in CP/Berar circuit