IIFA 2014: Bollywood Chooses Awards Over Their Voting Rights


IIFA-6[tps_footer]It’s sad but true that most of the stars has chosen to attend The 15th International Indian Film Academy Awards and have giving the voting day a miss.

While celebrities like Vivek Oberoi and Shahid Kapoor have already landed in Florida, Sonakshi Sinha, Saif Ali Khan, Richa Chadda, Imtiaz Ali, Aditi Rao Hydari, Shabana Azmi, Javed Akhtar, Shankar Mahadevan and Rakyesh Omprakash Mehra were spotted at the Mumbai airport leaving for The 15th International Indian Film Academy Awards last night.

Shahid Kapoor along with Farhan Akhtar will host The 15th International Indian Film Academy Awards. However Farhan Akhtar is expected to make it to ceremony after casting his vote in Mumbai on April, 2014

Sonakshi Sinha, who was spotted in airport leaving for the event, posted a video of her practicing for her performance with the caption, “Get ready to Party All night Tampa Bay!! I’m all set to rock your world at IIFA 2014.”

Mumbai votes on April 24, 2104 but ask Sonakshi Sinha how she’s planning to shuttle between the polling booth and the International Indian Film Academy Awards and she replies: “I am leaving for IIFA tonight. So will not be able to cast my vote.”

Saif Ali Khan, who will be hosting Technical Awards, will also have to skip casting his vote. Saif’s spokesperson stated that the star is legally bound by a contract to IIFA and can’t cancel his trip.

This election season, Bollywood celebrities have to juggle casting their vote and attending The International Indian Film Academy Awards which begin in Tampa Bay, Florida on April 23, 2014.

However, many celebrities are expected to put the ballot first. Award night co-host and Best Actor Nominee Farhan Akhtar will cast his vote and then fly to Tampa Bay, Florida along with Deepika Padukone who has been a Best Actress Nominee.

Well how I wish we had more responsible citizens like Farhan Akhtar and Deepika Padukone.

IIFA 2014: Oscar Nominee John Travolta Set To Receive A Special Honour
IIFA 2014: Travel Agent Akarsh Kolaprath Files A Lawsuit Against Wizcraft
IIFA 2014: Shatrughan Sinha To Be Honoured
IIFA 2014: Soha Ali Khan To Give The IIFA Awards A Miss
IIFA 2014: Anupam Kher’s Short Film To Premiere At IIFA Awards[/tps_footer]