Unconventional Cinema Shines At 60th National Awards


MUMBAI: Critically acclaimed and unconventional Bollywood films, which were in abundance in 2012, emerged big winners at the prestigious National awards announced Monday.

The cast and the crew of these unique films were duly rewarded at the 60th National Awards organized by the Directorate of Film Festivals, I&B Ministry.

The winners were announced in New Delhi in a joint Press Conference addressed by the Chairpersons of the three juries, Shri Basu Chatterjee for Feature Films, Ms. Aruna Raje for Non-Feature Films and Shri Swapan Mullick for Best Writing on Cinema .
Here’s the list:
Best Actor – Irrfan Khan (Paan Singh Tomar)
Best Film (Hindi) – Paan Singh Tomar
Best Film providing wholesome entertainment – Vicky Donor
Best Supporting Actor – Annu Kapoor (Vicky Donor)
Best Supporting Actress – Dolly Ahluwalia (Vicky Donor)
Best Singer – Shankar Mahadevan (Chittagong)
Best Screenplay (adapted) – OMG Oh My God
Best sound recording: Gangs of Wasseypur
Best original screenplay – Sujoy Ghosh (Kahaani)
Special Jury Mention – Parineeti Chopra (Ishaqzaade)
Nawazuddin Siddiqui (Gangs Of Wasseypur, Talaash)
Best Animation Film – Delhi Safari (Nikhil Advani)
Indira Gandhi Award For Best Debut Film Of A Director – Chittagong (Hindi)
Best Singer Male – Chittagong (Hindi)
Best Editing – Kahaani (Hindi)
Best Lyrics – Chittagong (Hindi)
Special Jury Award – Kahaani (Hindi), Gangs Of Wasseypur (Hindi), Talaash (Hindi)

Irrfan Khan, who won the Best actor award, for ‘Paan Singh Tomar’ said, “I am really grateful to the story that came my way. Film is not just a business, it has to have a passion. You have to enjoy the part. Connection with the part is important.”

And a very excited Akshay Kumar tweeted, “Superb news, our first film OMG! Oh My God under Grazing Goat Pix won a National Award for Best Adapted Screenplay! Truly an OMG moment for us :)”