6th TV Land Awards honors Mike Myers, Garry Marshall


Mumbai: Celebrities from television, film and music all came out for the taping of the sixth annual TV Land Awards premiering on 15 June. The list included Steve Carell, Justin Timberlake, Robin Williams, Dick Van Dyke, Samuel L. Jackson, Teri Hatcher, Penny Marshall, Cindy Williams, William Shatner, Henry Winkler, Kathy Griffin, Ed Asner, Jack Klugman, Kim Alexis and Beverly Johnson.

Honorees included Mike Myers (Legacy of Laughter Award), Garry Marshall (Legend Award), the cast of Roseanne (Innovator Award), Lionel Richie (Icon Award) — who took the stage to perform a medley of his greatest hits, the cast of The Golden Girls (Pop Culture Award), Jonathan Winters (Pioneer Award) and The Office (Future Classic Award). The show was taped on 8 June at The Barker Hangar in Santa Monica, CA.

The event featured some unforgettable moments such as when Justin Timberlake presented The Legacy of Laughter Award to Mike Myers and actors Penny Marshall, Cindy Williams, Henry Winkler, Jack Klugman and Dick Van Dyke gave a heartwarming tribute to writer, producer, actor and director Garry Marshall who received The Legend Award.

Samuel L. Jackson introduced music sensation and Icon Award winner Lionel Richie, who performed a medley of his greatest hits including Hello and Easy. In a hysterical tribute, Robin Williams presented The Pioneer Award to Jonathan Winters.

The Legacy of Laughter Award, presented by Justin Timberlake, is presented to performers who create timeless comedy by mixing the strange and the familiar, bringing to life characters, stories and moments that are both comically absurd, and, at some level, completely real. This year’s recipient is Mike Myers. Last year, this award was presented to Lucille Ball for her awe-inspiring work which continues to serve as an inspiration and a guiding force.