Bruce Beresford to head APAC Screen Awards Jury 2008


Mumbai: Academy-Award nominated director Bruce Beresford is set to be the President of the International Jury for the second annual Asia Pacific Screen Awards, to be held on the Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia, on 11 November.

The Asia Pacific Screen Awards honour the works of filmmakers across a region covering more than 70 countries, one third of the earth and half the world’s film output.

Bruce Beresford was nominated for an Academy Award in 1984 for Tender Mercies and in 1989 his film Driving Miss Daisy won four Academy Awards including Best Picture.

Asia Pacific Screen Awards chairman Des Power said, "Bruce Beresford’s remarkable body of work spans cultures and continents and it is particularly appropriate to appoint him to head the APSA Jury in 2008, the year in which he is making a film set in China, Australia and the United States.  Bruce has made a significant contribution to the Australian film industry over many decades and we are deeply honoured that he has agreed to preside over the APSA international Jury."

Beresford said, "The Asia Pacific Screen Awards have already set a very high standard and I commend the 2007 Jury led by Shabana Azmi.  I look forward to appointing the 2008 Jury and for it to be truly representative of the region."

"I have long admired cinema from Asia Pacific. Some of my favourite films have come from this highly creative and productive region. I am delighted to accept the role of International Jury President for the Asia Pacific Screen Awards in 2008 and I look forward to collaborating with my fellow Jury members. An Award of this calibre means a great deal to filmmakers for the way their films are perceived and promoted around the world."

Endorsing the awards, UNESCO director general Koïchiro Matsuura said, "I am convinced that the Asia-Pacific Screen Awards will contribute not only to promoting cultural diversity in the media but also to providing new opportunities for dialogue among cultures and people."