McCann Erickson, O&M bag agency of the year title at Mirchi Kaan


Mumbai: Outstanding radio creative were felicitated at the 5th Mirchi Kaan Awards. Held at The Grand Hyatt, Mumbai, eminent personalities from the entertainment, fashion, media & advertising fraternity were a part of the evening. Top agencies from across the country competed for the top honours under various categories – Food, Automotive, Media etc.

Initiated in the year 2004 by Radio Mirchi 98.3 FM, Mirchi Kaan Awards is the only awards for honouring creative excellence in radio advertising. In its 5th edition, Radio Mirchi 98.3 FM received an overwhelming response with more than 700 entries across 15 categories.

India’s leading advertising firms battled it out with each other for the Gold, Silver & Bronze award which was bagged by firms like Mc Cann, O&M, Leo Burnett, Mudra etc. Awards like ‘The Crystal Award’ were reserved for the most outstanding Radio Ad which was won by Mudra.

Commenting on the occasion, ENIL (Radio Mirchi) MD A.P. Parigi said, "The radio industry is at an all time boom and this bears testimonial to the fact that the industry has witnessed the launch of over 200 stations across 76 towns. Mirchi Kaan Awards is an initiative through which we hope to reinforce the creative proposition of being omnipresent to our advertisers and listeners".

ENIL CEO Prashant Panday added, "Mirchi Kaan Awards aims to search, recognise and empower creative talents from advertising field across India. We are delighted to have eminent jury and other special guest, personalities from all walks of life along for joining us in our endeavour to promote and encourage talent that delivers the best in radio. This year the theme was, March against Mediocrity."

The distinguished jury members comprised Prasoon Joshi, Piyush Pandey, R Balakrishnan, Ravi Deshpande, Mohammed Khan, KS Chakravarthi, Agnello Dias, KV Sridhar, Rajat Dholakia, Ram Sampath, Priti Nair, Rekha Nigam, Bobby Pawar, Shantanu Moitra, Ramanuj Shastry, Ashish Khazanchi, Gullu Sen, Prahlad Kakkar, Pradeep Sarkar, Josy Paul, Suguna Swami, Senthil Kumar, Sunil Thoppil, Deepa Krishnan and Ramesh Ramanathan.

Ernst & Young were the notaries and auditors for the awards and the Ad Club Bombay lent its support in organising the judging process.