Aamir, Kareena, SRK, TZP, Tabu win Filmfare Awards


MUMBAI: In the 53rd Filmfare Awards held on Saturday night, Shah Rukh Khan won the best actor award for the role of Kabir Khan in Chak De! India and Kareena Kapoor bagged the best actress award for essaying Geet in Jab We Met.

Taare Zameen Par bagged four awards in the categories of best film, Aamir Khan won best director award, Amol Gupte won an award for best story and Darsheel Safary won the critics award for best actor.   

Critic’s award for best actress was bagged by Tabu for her performance in Cheeni Kum. Shimit Amin won the best films critic’s award for Chak De! India.

Rishi Kapoor was conferred with the Lifetime achievement award. Filmfare Power Awards were given to Yash Chopra and Aditya Chopra. 

A. R. Rahman bagged the music director award and best background music award for Guru. The R D Burman Award went to Monty Sharma for Saawariya. Prasoon Joshi received the best lyrics award for the song Maa in Taare Zameen Par.

Best choreography award was received by Saroj Khan for the song Barso Re Megha Re in Guru. Among the playback singers Shreya Ghoshal won the best female playback singer award for Barso Re, while Shaan won the best male playback singer award for Jab Se Tere Naina in Saawariya.

The best screenplay award was given to Anurag Basu for Life In A Metro. Imtiaz Ali won award for the best dialogue for Jab We Met.

Irrfan Khan and Konkana Sen Sharma won the awards for best supporting actor and actress for Life In A Metro. 

Ranbir Kapoor and Deepika Padukone bagged the best debutant award for Saawariya and Om Shanti Om respectively. Padukone also received the Sony Head N Shoulders Fresh Face of the Year Award.

Red Chillies Entertainment received the awards for best special effects for Om Shanti Om.

Amitabh Shukla received the award for best editing and Sudhip Chatterjee for best cinematography for Chak De! India. Samir Chanda received the award for best art direction for Guru. Rob Miller received the best action award for Chak De India. Leslie Fernandes won the best sound award for Johnny Gaddaar. Sujata Sharma won the best costumes award for Gandhi My Father.