Aamir Khan & AR Rahman bag honours at CNN-IBN Indian of the Year


MUMBAI: The category winners and contenders for the CNN-IBN Indian of the Year 2008 have been announced. Actor Aamir Khan, G Madhavan, Chandrayaan team and the Golden Globe winner AR Rahman have been chosen by the citizens of the country as Indian of the Year in their respective fields.
The award ceremony will be held in New Delhi on 2 February at Hotel Taj Palace.
Khan has been chosen as the Indian of the Year in the entertainment category for being the most versatile film personality.
On the other hand, Rahman has been chosen as the Global Indian for being one of the true Indian music composers respected and acknowledged by the whole world and for putting India on the global entertainment map with his Golden Globe Award and Oscar nominations for his music in Slumdog Millionaire and compositions for films like Ghajini, Jodhaa Akbar, Jaane Tu Ya Jaane Na.