Karan Johar to host the MTV Lycra Awards

MUMBAI: Producer director Karan Johar will be hosting this year’s Lycra MTV Style Awards, which will be held on 14 October at the MMRDA Bandra Kurla Complex in Mumbai.


Johar said, “I’m expecting kutting edge style, a riot of kolours, kritikally akklaimed designers, desi kool, krazy stunts… all in signature MTV-style. But I’m still working on how to make the event my own – any idea how I can do that?”


This year the theme of the awards will be ‘Celebrating Style’.


In keeping with the theme, this year’s function will feature an explosion of colour with the year’s chosen designers – Neeta Lulla, Ritu Kumar, JJ Valaya, and Rohit Gandhi-Rahul Khanna presenting their lines. Additionally, designer Suneet Verma will create a special line for the opening sequence.


Divided into three broad categories – Popular, Technical and Honours, the awards will zero in on the most stylish people in fashion, films, sports, television, business, politics and music — be it Abhishek Bachchan, Preity Zinta, Himesh Reshammiya or Mandira Bedi.


A panel of 29 judges comprising Arjun Rampal, Ashok Salian, Manish Malhotra, Malaika Arora Khan, Mehr Jessia, AD Singh, Prahlad Kakkar and Deepika Govind will finalise the nominees in the three categories.

BOC Editorial

Learn More →

Leave a Reply