PVR Pictures to release 9 on 09.09.09 in India


MUMBAI: Filmmakers Tim Burton and Timur Bekmambetov join forces to produce director Shane Acker’s – 9. The film stars Elijah Wood, John C. Reilly, Jennifer Connelly, Martin Landau, Christopher Plummer and Crispin Glover and features the music of Danny Elfman. The theme song Welcome Home has been composed by popular American rock band, Coheed and Cambria.

This animated story is about 9 – an underdog hero, a born leader who is dark, quirky, intelligent and believes in taking risks besides wishing to know the meaning of life. His mental dexterity helps him build his team whose mission begins after the human civilization becomes extinct. 9 is sure to set an example for kids and inspire them to fight all odds to achieve their goals.

Acker’s animated fantasy epic 9 is the feature-length expansion of his Academy Award-nominated 2004 short film of the same name. The 11-minute short, 9, completed in mid-2004, impressed audiences worldwide. As director of the short, Acker received an Academy Award nomination in the Best Animated Short Film category – after having won the Gold Medal (the top prize) at the Student Academy Awards.

PVR Pictures CEO Uday Singh said, “We are thrilled to bring the much awaited animated film 9 directed by award-winning animator & designer Shane Acker and co-produced by Tim Burton & Timur Bekmambetov to the Indian theatres on a day-date release on 09.09.09.”