Rajnikanth, Kamal Hassan bag TN Awards


MUMBAI: Tamil superstar Rajnikanth and actor Kamal Hassan have been chosen for the Tamil Nadu State Film Award for the year 2005 and 2006 respectively.

While Rajinikanth won the best actor award for his performance in the Chandramukhi, Hassan won the award for Vettaiyadu Vilaiyadu.

The winners were selected by a committee headed by Justice S Mohan. The panel comprised veteran director S P Muthuraman and actors Shivakumar, Manorama and Sripriya.

Jothika, who portrayed the role of a split personality in Chandramukhi, was the best actress for 2005, while Priya Mani won the award for 2006 for her effective portrayal of a rural girl in Paruthi Veeran.

Chandramukhi, which was directed by P Vasu, won the award for best film category for 2005, whereas Veyil was awarded the best film for 2006. The latter was also screened at Cannes Film festival.

The actors who won special awards were Vijay (Thirupachi), Surya (Gajini), Meera Jasmine (Kasthuri Maan), Karthi (Paruthi Veeran) and Fakru and Sandhya (Dishyum).