Mirchi Music Awards: Who Won What?


More photos

MUMBAI: Just when film awards nights were all done and dusted, Bollywood decided to party on like rockstars at the Mirchi Music Awards held in the city this week. Bollywood’s lyricists and playback singers picked up awards for their immense contribution to music in cinema.

We spotted Amitabh Bachchan, Shilpa Shetty, Aditi Rao Hydarai, Esha Gupta (in a green Anand Kabra lehenga, no less), Ajay Devgn, Sameera Reddy (whom we could scarcely recognise in her Asian-inspired outfit and hairdo), Gul Panag (looking pretty in gold), talented performer Divya Dutta, newbie Yami Gautam (sadly, in an ill-fitting peach gown which was just blah), and Vikram Bhatt represented the Bollywood side of things.

On the music side, we saw Leslie Lewis and Hariharan unite, while Asha Bhonsle came to the awards with her nephew. Ila Arun, Javed Akhtar, Meiyeng Chang, Mika Singh, Himmesh Reshammiya, Sona Mohapatra and Neeraj made an appearance. Needless to say, this musical event saw some lilting on-stage performances by our very own talented singers.

Coming to the awards: Karan Johar’s ‘Agneepath’ bagged song of the year and album of the year, while the Mirchi song of the year went to ‘Radha’ from ‘Student of the Year’. The best male vocalist was swept by Sonu Niigaam, that bundle of raw talent, for ‘Abhi Mujhme Kahin’ from ‘Agneepath’; while best female vocalist went to Shreya Ghoshal for ‘Chikni Chameli’, also from ‘Agneepath’. Javed Akhtar picked up the award for best lyricist for ‘Jee Le Zara’.

Sona Mohapatra who also won an award was quick to thank Aamir Khan for supporting her and her husband Ram Sampath. “Unfortunately anything and everything comes under the Indi Pop category which is not from film music.I would like to thank Aamir. He deserves this.”