Alicia Mayer Beverley appointed vice-patron of Academy of The Asia Pacific Screen Awards


Mumbai: Asia Pacific Screen Awards chairman Des Power announced the appointment of Alicia Mayer Beverley as vice patron of The Academy of the Asia Pacific Screen Awards.

The Academy of the Asia Pacific Screen Awards was established earlier this year with Australian Jack Thompson AM as Patron.

Beverley is a resident of the Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia. A businesswoman who co-founded a successful intellectual property attorney firm, she has a keen interest in supporting international cinema.

Her family is often described as Hollywood’s royal family. Most of Beverley’s family has been members of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences with three receiving Academy Awards. They include David O Selznick who produced Gone with the Wind.

"I am honored to be announced vice patron of The Academy of the Asia Pacific Screen Awards. I look forward to assisting Patron Thompson, and Power, to further the exciting mission of this Academy," Beverley said.

"The Mayer family has a long and remarkable heritage in the film industry. Members of my family, most notably my Uncle Louis B. Mayer, have deeply influenced filmmaking around the world. This influence reaches back to the very early days of film, and includes Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer, the American Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, and the Academy Awards, which my Uncle founded.” She added.

Power said, "I am delighted to welcome Beverley to this important new role. She has a deep understanding of the role of an Academy such as this can play in building relationships and collaboration between filmmakers and in promoting their work. She is committed to the aims of APSA to acclaim the cinematic excellence of Asia-Pacific filmmakers and to grow international audiences for their work."

The Asia Pacific Screen Awards – the APSAs – is a collaboration with CNN International, UNESCO and FIAPF – International Federation of Film Producers Associations and is an international cultural initiative to acclaim films that best reflect their cultural origins and demonstrate cinematic excellence.