EMI songwriters dominate ASCAP Pop Awards

Mumbai: EMI Music Publishing songwriters including Fergie, Beyonce, Nelly Furtado and Stargate’s Tor Erik Hermansen swept the board at the ASCAP Pop Music Awards last night, picking up 21 awards in the ceremony at the Kodak Theater in Los Angeles.
The ASCAP Pop Music Awards celebrate the achievements of the songwriters and publishers of the most performed ASCAP songs of 2007. Stargate writer and producer Tor Erik Hermansen picked up an incredible five awards for his writing work on songs for Ne-Yo (Because Of You), Rihanna (Hate That I Love You), Beyonce (Irreplaceable), Paula Deanda (Walk Away [Remember Me]) and Elliott Yamin (Wait For You). Fergie scored two awards for her own hit tracks Fergalicious and Glamorous, while Nelly Furtado also received two ASCAP awards for her work on Give It To Me and Say It Right.
The success of its songwriters helped EMI Music Publishing win the ASCAP Pop Publisher of the Year title for an unprecedented 14th time in the 25-year history of the awards, and its sixth consecutive title in a row.
EMI Music Publishing chairman and CEO Roger Faxon commented, "We’re privileged to be able to work with such talented writers who consistently create songs that connect with music fans across the country. Their hard work and passion is at the heart of everything we do at EMI Music Publishing."
ASCAP president and chairman Marilyn Bergman said, "We congratulate EMI’s Roger Faxon and his creative team on their unprecedented fourteenth win as ASCAP Pop Publisher of the Year. They continue to be a force in today’s music, and we’re proud to honor them once again."