Sony Pictures Classics get 18 nominations for Film Independent’s Spirit Awards


Mumbai: Sony Pictures Classics took 18 Spirit nominations (in addition to Synecdoche, New York winning a special Robert Altman Award) which were announced in Los Angeles for their films Rachel Getting Married, Sugar, The Class, The Wackness, Synecdoche, New York and Frozen River.

Rachel Getting Married took six nominations including Best Feature, Best Director for Jonathan Demme, Best First Screenplay for Jenny Lumet and Best Female Lead for Anne Hathaway and Frozen River, Courtney Hunt’s drama about two desperate working-class women received six nominations for Best Feature, Best First Screenplay and Best Director for Courtney Hunt, Best Female Lead for Melissa Leo, Best Supporting Female for Misty Upham and Best Supporting Male for Charlie McDermott. Additionally Producer Heather Rae received the Piaget’s Producers Award. Synecdoche, New York took two nominations and a special Robert Altman Award for Director, Casting Director and Ensemble Cast.

Frozen River, Rachel Getting Married, Synecdoche, New York are presently on screens in North America. The Class is scheduled to open on 19 December for a one-week qualifying run and will be released for regular theatrical engagements on 30 January, 2009. Sugar will be released 3 April, 2009.

The following is a complete list of all the Sony Pictures Classics nominations for their films:

Frozen River:

Best Director – Courtney Hunt

Best Feature – Chip Hourihan, Heather Rae

Best Female Lead – Melissa Leo

Best First Screenplay – Courtney Hunt

Best Supporting Female – Misty Upham

Best Supporting Male – Charlie McDermott

Piaget Producers Award – Heather Rae

Rachel Getting Married:

Best Director – Jonathan Demme

Best Feature – Neda Armian, Jonathan Demme, Marc Platt

Best Female Lead – Anne Hathaway

Best First Screenplay – Jenny Lumet

Best Supporting Female – Rosemarie DeWitt

Best Supporting Female – Debra Winger


Best Screenplay – Anne Boden & Ryan Fleck

Synecdoche, New York:

Best First Feature – Anthony Bregman, Spike Jonze, Charlie Kaufman, Sidney Kimmel

Best Screenplay – Charlie Kaufman

Robert Altman Award:

Director – Charlie Kaufman

Casting Director – Jeanne McCarthy

Ensemble Cast – Hope Davis, Philip Seymour Hoffman, Jennifer Jason Leigh, Katherine Keener, Samantha Morton, Tom Noonan, Emily Watson, Dianne Wiest, Michelle Williams

The Class:

Best Foreign Film – Laurent Cantet

The Wackness:

Best First Screenplay – Jonathan Levine