Universal’s Brentwood-Benson Music Publishing acquires Emack Music


MUMBAI: Universal Music Publishing Group chairman & CEO David Renzer and Brentwood-Benson Music Publishing president Dale Mathews announced that UMPG has acquired the publishing assets of Emack Music, the publishing arm of Christian label Gotee Records.

The Emack Music catalog includes Relient K, Luna Halo, Grits, Jennifer Knapp, Ayeisha, House of Heroes, B. Reith, and more. The companies will jointly publish future works from the label’s new signings.

Regarding the acquisition, Mathews said, “I have a high regard for the value of this catalog and its artists and songwriters. But getting to work together with Joey Elwood and Toby Mac to help find and develop future talent made this opportunity even more appealing to me.”

Elwood said, “Toby and I felt that our future was better served in a partnership with the resources that Dale and his team provide for our staff and artist writers. We’re proud and excited to join the Universal Music Publishing Group/BBMP team and look forward to the future of developing artists, writers and producers with them.”

With over 70,000 copyrights, Brentwood-Benson Music Publishing owns the world’s largest Christian music publishing catalogue as well as the second largest evangelically-styled choral music catalog. Its songs have been recorded by virtually every major singer in the Christian music industry as well as by such renowned artists as Bob Dylan, Dolly Parton, Ray Charles, Linda Ronstadt, Amy Grant, Elvis Presley, Willie Nelson, Alicia Keys, Clay Aiken and Trace Adkins.

UMPG’s assets in the contemporary Christian/gospel market also include the Lorenz Creative Services catalogues, Reunion Music (whose catalogue includes the Eric Clapton hit "Change The World"), the Sparrow catalogues (containing numerous legendary gospel classics) and RBI Entertainment.

The company’s leading artists in the genre include Kirk Franklin, Jars of Clay, Fred Hammond, Joy Williams, Bebo Norman and Day of Fire. Brentwood-Benson also publishes songs recorded by Third Day, Michael W. Smith and Twila Paris.