Nokia collaborates with Rahman for music album for mobiles


MUMBAI: Nokia has collaborated with music composer AR Rahman to launch the first of its kind music album, Nokia Connections, exclusively for its XpressMusic devices.

Conceptualised by Rahman, the album has nine original compositions from him, alongwith other musicians such as Sukhwinder, ShivMani and Blaaze. The compositions are across music genres and languages such as Rajasthani, Punjabi folk, Hindi and Tamil.

Nokia India head GTM Vineet Taneja said, "Music on the move is, and will continue to be, an important element of the mobile experience. Nokia has blazed a trail for music on mobiles – from handset personalization via ringing tones to music consumption through integrated FM radios and MP3 support. Nokia’s music innovation continues as we offer more and more localized and relevant content to our consumers. We share a very special and long-term relationship with Rahman and we have pioneered many innovative things together – the first vertical format video with ‘Pray for me brother’, the first remix contest for a Rahman song and now this exclusive album for the XpressMusic devices. We thank Rahman for participating in our journey of redefining mobile music."

Rahman added, "I am very happy to join hands with Nokia for yet another industry first. The album, Nokia Connections is very close to my heart as we have taken inspiration from different walks of life to create nine soundtracks that establish the diversity of music. In today’s time a song like "Jiya se Jiya" becomes even more relevant as it gives the message of embracing everyone irrespective of their region, religion or language."

The lead soundtrack from the Nokia Connections album is composed by Rahman. The music video of the track has been directed by the award winning Kanika Myer of BharatBala Productions. The track reflects different moods and genres of music bringing and tying them together into a beautiful composition. The music video will be released in association with Universal across all leading music channels in mid-December.

Some of other tracks from the Connections album include Mann Chandre, Kural, Mylapore Blues & Mosquito. The songs will be preloaded on Nokia 5800 XpressMusic, Nokia 5220 XpressMusic & Nokia 5320 XpressMusic from January, 2009.