12th Mumbai Film Festival concludes with accolades for Oliver Stone, Manoj Kumar


    MUMBAI: The 12th Mumbai Film Festival came to an end tonight and the closing ceremony took place at Chandan cinema.

    The closing ceremony was hosted by Fardeen Khan and Raima Sen and was attended by the who’s who of the Indian film industry as well as the delegates and participants from all over the world.

    Yash Chopra, Vidhu Vinod Chopra, Ramesh Sippy, Indra Kumar, Ashok Thakeria, Ashutosh Gowarikar, Sudhir Mishra, Madhur Bhandarkar, Arunoday Singh, Satish Kaushik, Prem Chopra, Hrishita Bhatt, Rituparno Sengupta, Rajshree Ojha and Aamir Bashir were some of the people from the industry who were present at the closing ceremony.

    The ceremony was followed by the screening of Robert Schwentke’s Red starring Bruce Willis, Morgan Freeman, Mary Louise Parker and John Malkovich.

    Veteran actor, director Manoj Kumar, was honored with the Indian lifetime achievement award and the international lifetime achievement award was given to director Oilver Stone. Kumar said, “Oilver Stone was Oliver Stone until he came to India, after landing he became a precious gem and priceless stone.” In turn Oliver thanked Mumbai, the Festival and Kumar for his kind words and said “India has great culture, you make great movies and I am honored to accept this award.”

    The Golden Gateway Award for the best film in the international competition category was presented to Turkish film, Majority, directed by Seren Yüce. The award was presented by director Girish Kasarvalli and Festival jury member Samira Makhmalbaf.

    The Silver Gateway Award Jury Grand Prize film in the international competition category was presented to the Danish film R directed by Michael Noer and Tobias Lindholm.

    The silver gateway award for best director was presented to Anocha Suwichakornpong for her film from Thailand Mundane History. Anocha was the only female director competing in the international competition category.

    The silver gateway award for best actor was presented to Bartu Kucukcaglayan for his performance in the film Majority. The silver gateway award for best actress was presented to Marie Hélène Bellavance for her performance in Canadian film Vital Signs.

    The Jury award for technical excellence was presented to a Greek film Black Field directed by Vardis Marinakis.

    The Audience choice Silver Gateway Award was presented to Spanish film Biutiful directed by Alejandro González Iñárritu.

    In the Dimensions Mumbai section the best film award was won by Mumbaikar Ganesh directed by Collin D’cunha. The runner up position was shared by two films Tee directed by Avinash Medhe and Mera Ghar directed by Abhay Kumar. Mumbai Retina directed by Narayan Vijay Thakur won the special mention award. Dimensions Mumbai was juried by Dev Benegal, Vishaka Dutta, Ashim Ahluwalia, Brahmanand Singh and Manish Acharya.

    The Harmony Celebrate Age was presented to Mama Gogo directed by Friðrik Þór Friðriksson and the runner up prize was given to Forget Me Not directed by Katia Grivot.

    The Mumbai young critics silver gateway award was given to Octubre co- directed by Daniel Vega & Diego Vega.