Andhra government to institute two film awards


MUMBAI: The Andhra Pradesh Government has instituted two national awards in memory of three legendary filmmakers namely B N Reddy, Nagireddy and Chakrapani.

The awards, which carry a cash prize of Rs 2 lakh each, will be presented from 2010 and will be given to those who contributed to the growth of film industry nationally.

Bommireddy Narasimha Reddy, popularly known as B N Reddy, was a recipient of the Dadasaheb Phalke Award and Padma Bhushan. He directed Telugu classics like Sumangali, Devata, Malliswari amongst others. On the other hand, Nagireddy and Chakrapani together produced films under the Vijaya Productions banner in Telugu, Tamil and Hindi.