Bollywood Awards honours Mira Nair, Danny Glover


MUMBAI: Filmmaker Mira Nair was awarded the Pride of India Award for her body of work, which has made her a household name around the world, at the Bollywood Movie Awards 2007. The awards were held on 26 May at the Nassau Coliseum in New York.

Danny Glover, Hollywood actor best known for his roles in the Lethal Weapon franchise, also received a special award for his contribution to Global Entertainment.

Lage Raho Munnabhai director Rajkumar Hirani, picked up the awards for Best Director and Best Film. The votes for the award winners were cast by non-resident South Asians.

The Master of Ceremonies for the evening was television artiste Mona Singh, while performers included Bipasha Basu, Vivek Oberoi, Soha Ali Khan, Urmila Matonkar, Neha Dhupia and Arjun Rampal.

Raghav from the UK, Shahidi Mini and Warig Baig from Pakistan, Rick Ramdehal from the Caribbean also performed their hit songs.

Attendees included Rajkumar Hirani, Kirron Kher, Sikandar Kher, Bipasha Basu, Arjun Rampal, Kangana Ranaut, Vikram Chatwal, Danny Glover, Mira Nair, Neha Dhupia, Urmila Matonkar, Danny Glover, Mira Nair, Ohylicia Rashad, Upen Patel, Bradley Cooper (Alias and Wedding Crasher star) and Sony Television India vice president Rajan Singh.

Winners for the 2007 Bollywood Movie Awards

Best Film
Lage Raho Munnabhai (Vidhu Vinod Chopra)

Best Director
Rajkumar Hirani (Lage Raho Munnabhai)

Best Actor
Hrithik Roshan (Dhoom 2)

Best Actress
Bipasha Basu (Corporate)

Best Actor in A Supporting Role (Male)
Vivek Oberoi (Omkara)

Best Actor In A Supporting Role (Female)
Kirron Kher (Rang De Basanti)

Best Actor In A Negative Role (Male/Female)
Saif Ali Khan (Omkara)

Best Actor In A Comic Role (Male/Female)
Anupam Kher (Khosla Ka Ghosla)

Best Music Director
Kabhi Alvida Naa Kehna (Shankar-Ehsaan-Loy)

Best Playback Singer (Male)
Shaan (Chand Sifarish – Fanaa)

Best Playback Singer (Female)
Alka Yagnik (Kabhi Alvida Naa Kehna – Kabhi Alvida Naa Kehna)

Best Lyrics
Prasoon Joshi (Subhanallah – Fanaa)

Best Story
Lage Raho Munnabhai (Rajkumar Hirani / Abhijit Joshi)

Best Screenplay
Rang De Basanti (Rensil D’Silva, Rakeysh Omprakash Mehra)

Best Dialogue
Lage Raho Munnabhai (Rajkumar Hirani)

Best Editing
Rang De Basanti (PS Bharathi)

Best Sound
Dhoom 2 (Dwarak Warrier)

Best Cinematography
Dhoom 2 (Vikas Sivaraman & Nirav Shah)

Best Art Direction
Rang De Basanti (Samir Chanda)

Best Choreography
Shiamak Davar (Dhoom –  Dhoom 2)

Best Debut – Male
Upen Patel (36 China Town)

Best Debut – Female
Kangana Ranaut (Gangster)

Best Costume Designer
Manish Malhotra (Kabhi Alvida Na Kehnaa)

Pride of India Award
Mira Nair

Lifetime Achievement
Asha Parekh

Outstanding Contribution to Global Entertainment
Danny Glover

Honorary Award for Contribution to Indian Cinema
Ken Naz of Eros Entertainment