Black shines bright at IIFA 2006 in Dubai

Black once again made a clean sweep of all the major awards at the IIFA 2006 held in Dubai last night at a glittering function which was attended by the glitterati of west Asia.

Amitabh Bachchan the brand ambassador for IIFA won the Best Actor award for his role in Ram Gopal Varma’s Sarkar.

Black won the Best Film Award. There was a surprise in store for the Best Director award, it was shared between Sanjay Leela Bhansali for Black and Prakash Jha for Apaharan.

The Best Actress award had a predictable winner in Rani Mukherjee for Black who has had a clean sweep this year in almost all the award functions held. Black also won awards for cinematography, editing, song recording and background score.

The trio of Shankar-Ehsaan-Loy won the Best Music Director award for their Music in Bunty Aur Babli. Gulzar won the Best Lyrics for his song Kajra Re from the same film.
The same song had another winner in the form of Best Female Playback Singer. Alisha Chinai won the award in that category. Himesh Reshammiya won yet another award for Best Male Playback Singer for his rendition of the title song of the film Aashiq Banaya Aapne. One more winner for the song Kajra Re was Vaibhavi Merchant in the Best Choreography category.

The awards in the Best Supporting Actor and Best Supporting Actress Female went to Abhishek Bachchan for Sarkar and Ayesha Kapoor for Black respectively. Nagesh Kukunoor took home the award for Best Story for his film Iqbal.

Nana Patekar won the Best Actor in a Negative Role for his role in Bluffmaster. Javed Jaffrey was the winner of the Best Comedian award for his role in Salaam Namaste.
Vidya Balan and Shiney Ahuja were the unprecedented choice for the Best Debutants for 2006, for their roles in Parineeta and Hazaaron Khwaishien Aisi respectively.

Yesteryear actress Asha Parekh and filmmaker O P Dutta were honoured with Lifetime Achievement Awards. Hollywood producer Ashok Amritraj was specially honoured for his contribution in promoting Indian cinema overseas.

The gala evening saw performances by stars Akshay Kumar, Hritik Roshan, Saif Ali Khan, Preity Zinta and newcomer Upen Patel.

Winners all the way at IIFA….2006

(Popular categories)

Best Picture


Best Direction
Sanjay Leela Bhansali – Black
Prakash Jha – Apaharan

Best Performance in a Leading Role (Male)
Amitabh Bachchan – Sarkar

Best Performance in a Leading Role (Female)
Rani Mukherjee – Black

Best Performance in a Supporting Role (Male)
Abhishek Bachchan – Sarkar

Best Performance in a Supporting Role (Female)
Ayesha Kapoor – Black

Best Performance in a Comic Role
Javed Jaffery – Salaam Namaste

Best Performance in a Negative Role
Nana Patekar – Bluffmaster

Best Music Direction
Shankar Ehsaan Loy – Bunty Aur Babli

Best Story
Nagesh Kukunoor – Iqbal

Best Lyrics
Gulzar – Kajra Re

Best Playback Singer (Male)
Himesh Reshammiya – Aashiq Banaya Aapne – Aashiq Banaya Aapne

Best Playback Singer (Female)
Alisha Chinai – Kajra Re

(Technical Awards)

Best Cinematography
Ravi K Chandran for Black

Best Screenplay
Vidhu Vinod Chopra& Pradeep Sarkar for
Parineeta – The Married Woman

Best Dialogue
Prakash Jha for Apharan

Best Editing
Bela Segal for Black

Best Art Direction
Keshto Mondol, Elridge Rodrigues, Tanushree Sarkar, Pradeep Sarkar for Parineeta – The Married Woman

Best Choreography
Vaibhavi Merchant for Bunty Aur Babli – Kajra re

Best Action
Allan Amin for Dus

Best Sound Recording
Bishwadeep Chatterjee for Parineeta – The Married Woman

Best Sound Re Recording
Anup Dev for Black

Best Song Recording
P. Balaraman for Aashiq Banaya Aapne

Best Special Effects
Prime Focus for Dus

Best Background Score
Monty Sharma for Black

Best Costume Designing
Subarna Ray Chaudhari for Parineeta – The Married Woman

Best Make up
Vidyadhar Bhatte for Parineeta – The Married Woman

About Author

Abhijit Mhamunkar

Learn More →

Leave a Reply