TOIFA: Meet The Nominees


MUMBAI: The newly launched Times of India Film Awards (TOIFA) is scheduled to take place in Vancouver from 4-6 April, and here’s the list of nominees.

2012 had the most diverse set of films, outstanding performances, beautiful stories and powerful music to share. It was a memorable year for more than one reason – Sridevi made an impactful comeback after 15 long years, unconventional scripts like ‘Paan Singh Tomar’, ‘Gangs of Wasseypur’ and ‘Barfi!’ were showcased.

In the Best Actor Male category, vying for the ‘elephant trophy’ that was launched by superstar Shah Rukh Khan recently are – Manoj Bajpayee (Gangs Of Wasseypur), Irrfan Khan(Paan Singh Tomar), Ranbir Kapoor (Barfi!), Hrithik Roshan (Agneepath) and Shah Rukh Khan (Jab Tak Hai Jaan) himself.

For Best Actor Female, the nominations are Deepika Padukone (Cocktail), Priyanka Chopra (Barfi!), Sridevi (English Vinglish) and Vidya Balan (Kahaani).

Annu Kapoor (Vicky Donor), Boman Irani (Ferrari Ki Sawaari), Krushna Abhishek (Bol Bachchan) and Nawazuddin Siddiqui (Talaash) are nominated for the Best Actor in a Supporting role (Male) category.

Anushka Sharma (Jab Tak Hai Jaan), Dolly Ahluwalia (Vicky Donor), Illeana D’cruz (Barfi!) and Rani Mukerji (Talaash) are nominated for the Best Actor in a Supporting role (Female).

Nominations for Best Actor in a Negative role are Bipasha Basu (Raaz 3), Rishi Kapoor (Agneepath), Sanjay Dutt (Agneepath) and Tigmanshu Dhulia (Gangs of Wasseypur) who debuted as an actor.

Abhishek Bachchan and Ajay Devgn (Bol Bachchan) are fighting it out in the nominations for Best Actor in a Comic role, along with Akshay Kumar (Housefull 2) and Annu Kapoor (Vicky Donor).

Nominations for Debut Male are Ayushmann Khurrana (Vicky Donor), Arjun Kapoor for (Ishaqzaade), Varun Dhawan (Student of the Year) and Sidharth Malhotra for (Student of the Year).

Nominations for Debut Female are Alia Bhatt (Student of the Year), Huma Qureshi (Gangs of Wasseypur), Ileana D’cruz (Barfi!) and Yami Gautam (Vicky Donor).

Nominations for Best Director are Anurag Basu (Barfi!), Anurag Kashyap (Gangs of Wasseypur), Gauri Shinde (English Vinglish), Shoojit Sircar (Vicky Donor) and Sujoy Ghosh (Kahaani).

The Best Film Nominations are ‘Barfi!’, ‘Gangs of Wasseypur’, ‘Kahaani’, ‘Paan Singh Tomar’ and ‘Vicky Donor’.