Christopher Nolan’s Inception wins Hollywood Movie Awards


MUMBAI: The 14th annual Hollywood Awards Gala ceremony, which was held at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Beverly Hills, saw Chrisopher Nolan’s Inception receiving the Hollywood Movie Award.

The awards, presented by Starz, announced this year’s winner of the Hollywood Movie Award. Inception was chosen by public voting online at the Yahoo! Movies website.

The voting site received 20 million unique visitors and over 260,000 votes were cast. The nominees for the Hollywood Movie Award were Alice in Wonderland, Despicable Me, The Expendables, How to Train Your Dragon, Inception, Iron Man 2, Salt, The Social Network, Shutter Island and Toy Story 3.

The festival and awards also announced winners of the Hollywood Discovery Awards, chosen by public voting at the Yahoo! Movies website — Tyler Langdon – favorite male actor and Ariel King – favorite female actor. The nominees for favorite male actor were: Eric Hulen, Tyler Langdon, Jose Morales, and Cameron Radice and the nominees for favorite female actor were: Zamara Jimenez, Sarah Joanou, Ariel King, Lauren Serrano, and Jessica Williams.

Special honors went to Sylvester Stallone for career achievement; Robert Duvall, Annette Bening, Sam Rockwell, Helena Bonham Carter, Andrew Garfield, Mia Wasikowska, Jennifer Lawrence, Jesse Eisenberg, Justin Timberlake, Armie Hammer, Max Minghella, Brenda Song, Rashida Jones, Josh Pence, Douglas Urbanski, Rooney Mara, Milla Jovovich, Mila Kunis, Leighton Meester, Barry Pepper, Noomi Rapace for acting; Zach Galifiankis for comedy; Tom Hooper for directing; Danny Boyle and Christian Colson for producing; Aaron Sorkin for screenwriting; Toy Story 3, directed by Lee Unkrich, for animation; Hans Zimmer for film composing; Wally Pfister for cinematography; Kirk Baxter and Angus Wall for editing; Janek Sirrs (Iron Man 2) for visual effects; Robert Stromberg for production design; and Morgan Freeman and Lori McCreary for innovation.

In addition, the Hollywood Humanitarian Award was presented to Sean Penn for his tireless work and devotion to helping the people of Haiti recover from the ravaging effects of the earthquake that struck in January.

Celebrities who attended the Hollywood Awards included Josh Brolin, Danny DeVito, Aaron Eckhart, Jodie Foster, James Franco, Andy Garcia, Heather Graham, Paul Haggis, Bryce Dallas Howard, Ren Klyce, Diane Lane, Justin Long, Leonard Maltin, Nancy Meyers, Carey Mulligan, Ryan Murphy, Christopher Nolan, Don Rickles, Hilary Swank, and Emma Thomas, to name a few.