Chak De! sweeps 8 Apsara awards

Mumbai: It was Chak de for the Chak De! India team at the Sunsilk Apsara The Producers’ Guild Award 2008. Chak De! dominated the awards for excellence and achievement in theatrical motion by sweeping a total of eight Apsara trophies.
Chak De! was declared the Best Film, while Shimit Amin picked up the Best Director and Shahrukh Khan picked up the award for Best Actor in a Leading Role for his performance in the film.
Other awardees included Kareena Kapoor picking up the award for the Best Actress in a Leading Role for her role in Jab We Met. Life in A…Metro swept two awards as both Konkana Sen Sharma and Irfan Khan won the Best Actress in a Supporting Role and Best Actor in a Supporting Role respectively.
The Producers Guild Awards had performances by Salman Khan, Ritesh Deshmukh, Bipasha Basu, Katrina Kaif and Kareena Kapoor. The performances were choreographed by the duo Pappu Mallu and Ganesh Hegde. Host Javed Jaffery and Indian Hockey team Captain Vidya Malvade took over the Master of Ceremony proceedings.
Promoters and partners of the show, NDTV Imagine presented awards to Akshay Kumar for NDTV Imagine Best Entertainer of the Year, while Govinda and Salman Khan won the award for NDTV Imagine Best Jodi of the Year.
Shah Rukh Khan presented the Award for the Best Contribution to Indian cinema to Yash Chopra. Under the special category, the ARY Style Icon Award was presented to Hrithik Roshan and Katrina Kaif was presented the ARY Style Diva Award. ARY, the popular Pakistani news network presented these awards on behalf of the fan following present for the Indian Cinema in Pakistan.