President of India to give away National Film Awards

Mumbai: The 58th National Film Awards function will be held today a Vigyan Bhawan. The awards will be given away by the Honble President of India. Minister of Information & Broadcasting Ambika Soni will also be present on the occasion.

The highlights of the 58th National Film Awards are as follows:
· Four child artists have won the National Award this time for various films.

For the category of the Best Actor & Actress, the profile of the winners is as under:
1. K Dhanush – for Aadukalam (Tamil).
2. Salim Kumar – for Adaminte Makan Abu (Malayalam) in which he has played a protagonist in serious role
3. Mitalee Jagtap Varadkar – for Baboo Band Baaja (Marathi).
4. Saranya Ponvannan – for Thenmerkku Paruvakkatru (Tamil).
· For the category of Best Feature Film, Adaminte Makan Abu (Malayalam) produced by Salim Ahamad and Ashraf Bedi, have been given the Swarn Kamal and Rs 2,50,000 each.
· Indira Gandhi Award for Best Debut Film of a Director has been given to Baboo Band Baaja (Marathi), directed by Rajesh Pinjani, produced by Neeta Jadhav, who have been given Swarn Kamal and Rs 1,25,000 each.
· The award for Best Popular Film providing Wholesome Entertainment has been given to Dabangg (Hindi), produced by Arbaaz Khan, Malaika Arora Khan and Dhilin Mehta, directed by Abhinav Singh Kashyap.
· The Nargis Dutt Award for Best Feature Film on National Integration has been given to Moner. This is an Indo-Bangladesh collaboration venture. One of the producers Habibur Rehman is from Bangladesh.
· The award for the Best Hindi Film has been given to Do Dooni Chaar produced by Arindam Chaudhuri and directed by Habib Faisal.
· The film Aadukalam has won 6 Awards in various categories namely Best Director, Best Actor, Best Screenplay, Best Editing, Best Choreography Special Mention to Sri Lankan actor V.I.S Jayapalan.
· The film Adaminte Makan Abu has won 4 Awards namely Best Feature Film, Best Actor, Best Cinematography, Best Music direction.
· The award for the Best Book on Cinema has been given to Vijaya Mulay at the age of 90 years.
· The film Ishqiya has won 4 Awards namely Best Audiography, Best Audiography, Best Music Direction, Best Female Playback Singer.
· The Dadasaheb Phalke Award for the year 2010 will be conferred to K. Balachander. The award is conferred by the Government of India for outstanding contribution to the growth and development of Indian Cinema. The award consists of a Swarn Kamal, a cash prize of Rs 10 lakhs and a shawl. The award is given on the recommendations of a committee of eminent persons.