4th Asia Pacific Screen Awards to be presented on 2 December

MUMBAI: The fourth Asia Pacific Screen Awards (APSAs) will be presented on Thursday, 2 December, 2010 in Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia.

31 films from 15 countries and territories have been nominated in this year’s ASPAs. Nominees or their representatives from all 15 countries and areas are travelling to the Gold Coast to attend the Awards Ceremony. Nominees like actors Tony Barry, Atul Kulkarni and actress Tejaswini Pandit and China’s Xu Fan will be attending the award ceremony along with the star of the New Zealand hit film Boy, James Rolleston, the director and producer of Aftershock, Feng Xiaogang and producer Wang Zhongjun and director/producer of Honey Semih Kaplanoğlu, Israeli screenwriter Nir Bergman, Japanese screenwriter Hisako Kurosawa, Korean producer, Lee Joon-dong, producer Kim Ju-kyung, producers Robyn Kershaw and Graeme Isaac, producer Mohammad Ali Najafi, producer Sanjay Singh, director Alex Law, nominated producers in the Best Animated Feature Film category Zareh Nalbandian, Yasumasa Tsuchiya, Mitsuhisa Ishikawa and Lynne Wang, Best Documentary Feature Film nominees Bob Moore, and Darius Fisher.

Raavan cinematographer V. Manikandan who has been nominated in the Cinematography category will also be attending the award function. Indonesia’s Christine Hakim will attend the Awards as the recipient of the APSA 2010 FIAPF Award for Outstanding Achievement in Film.

Already on the Gold Coast is the 2010 APSA International Jury who has commenced its deliberations. President of the International Jury is Lord David Puttnam. Other Jury members are Indian actress and star of Road, Movie and Brick Lane, Tannishtha Chatterjee; Indonesian writer, producer and director, Salman Aristo, producer and first deputy president of the China Film ProducersAssociation Ming Zhenjiang ,Australian cinematographer Ellery Ryan ,Kazakh writer/director Sergey Dvortsevoy ,Turkish filmmaker and film academic Serdar Akar .

Ma Xiaohui, Erhu virtuoso and composer will perform at the Awards ceremony. The awards ceremony will be presented by broadcaster Indira Naidoo and International Channel Shanghai China’s Chen Lei.

Nine awards will be presented for the following achievements: Best Feature Film, Best Animated Feature Film, Best Documentary Feature Film, Best Children’s Feature Film, Achievement in Directing, Best Screenplay, Achievement in Cinematography, Best Performance by an Actress, and Best Performance by an Actor. In addition, three major awards namely; FIAPF Award, UNESCO Award, Jury Grand Prize will be presented for outstanding achievement.