Art Directors Guild announces 2007 winners


MUMBAI: The Art Directors Guild (ADG) announced winners of its Excellence in 2007 Production Design Awards in eight categories of film, television and commercials during black-tie ceremonies from the International Ballroom of the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Beverly Hills.
Honorary awards were presented to Production Designer Stuart Craig for Lifetime Achievement and visual effects master Ray Harryhausen for Outstanding Contribution to Cinematic Imagery. Art Directors Guild Chairman Thomas A. Walsh presided over the awards ceremony with Harry Shearer serving as host. Presenters for this year’s awards included Ray Bradbury, Tony Hale (Arrested Development), Natasha Henstridge (Eli Stone), Keegan-Michael Key (Mad TV), Joel McHale (The Soup), Jason Segel (Knocked Up, How I Met Your Mother), and Shaun Toub (The Kite Runner).
ADG awards recognition always goes to the Production Designer, Art Director and Assistant Art Director of each nominated and winning project.
During its ceremony tonight ADG inducted five additional legendary Production Designers into its Hall of Fame, bringing the roster to 22. The new inductees are Edward Carfagno, Stephen Grimes, Dale Hennesy, James Trittipo and Lyle R. Wheeler.
Co-Producers for this year’s ADG Awards are Scott Meehan and John Sabato. Sponsors of this year’s ADG Awards included Paramount Pictures/Dreamworks Pictures, Paramount Vantage, Walt Disney Studios, Below The Line, Daily Variety, The Hollywood Reporter, Fox Studios Production Services, Local 44 Affiliated Property Craftspersons, Local 729 Motion Picture Set Painters & Sign Writers, Miramax, Senovva, The Skouras Agency, Sony Pictures Studios, Universal Pictures, Universal Studios Operations Group and Warner Bros. Studio Facilities. Tarin Wilson of plan A Events produced this year’s awards ceremony for ADG.